Skip to content

First Days

September 10, 2013

P.J. was first up to bat.
pjschool1st
Although (I think) he was excited, he just couldn’t hold still for a picture. The prospect of First Grade was just too exciting. Or maybe it was getting back together with Mr. Marty, bus driver extraordinaire.

Soon, Lily could NOT be kept inside.
lilyschool4th
Fourth Grade was calling.
waiting
And yet, as so often happens on the first day of school, the buses were late. So late. My kids started to question my ability to read. They started thinking the school had forgotten about them. Just before they could start eating their lunches, the buses came, and I headed off to work.

At the end of the day, I was, of course, excited to see them and hear all about their day. When I saw P.J.s face, I was pretty sure he was excited to see me, too.
pjhome
Until he stopped short and totally ignored me.
Pete+pete
OK, I see how it is. Well, Lily will be ecstatic to see me.
lilyhome
Huh.

The following week, Amos started school. He definitely had been looking forward to this, but I think the early bus combined with his nerves for a serious morning.
amosschool
I could understand his reservations, and feared he might balk at actually getting on the bus, but he was a trooper and got right on. I think riding the bus to camp helped.

When I picked him up a few hours later, Amos was radiant. He had had SUCH a good time “that was fun!” was the first thing out of this reserved child’s mouth. And then I heard ALLLLLLLL about it. He wouldn’t stop talking. He sewed. He painted. As he showed me these products, he hastened to remind me that this stuff “is NOT crap! So don’t throw it away!” (He knows me so well.) He made a friend. He doesn’t know the friend’s name, but he IS a friend. They had snack: an apple with lemon juice squeezed on top. It was so delicious, he requested a repeat that afternoon.

And Mom….
Yes?
That school is better than my OLD school…
Really?
…at Circle Time, we get to sit in CHAIRS. At the old school, we sat on the floor and had to keep our backs straight, but here, we have chairs. BIG chairs like at church. Not little chairs.

Well, that does sound special.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Libby permalink
    September 10, 2013 5:57 pm

    Your children are so beautiful!
    Glad you and Abbey will be able to get together this weekend. She’s looking forward to seeing you even more than going to the conference, I think 🙂

  2. September 11, 2013 8:35 pm

    Thanks! I can’t wait to see Abbey!

  3. jeannette.neal@gmail.com permalink
    September 12, 2013 12:41 pm

    “Not crap!” Bwwaaahahaha! So true! I’ve been caught red-handed too many times by my garbage-picking (??!) children.

Leave a Reply

