Skip to content

Summertime blues

August 25, 2013
tags:

I got robbed today.  It was my fault, I guess.  I mean, it really wasn’t my fault, but it seems unseemly to blame the children.  The buck stops here, so it is my fault.  Someone, I assume a kid, went through our unlocked (that’s the part that is my fault) car and stole stuff.  They took my cash.  Can’t blame them, really, but I’m at a point in my life when I need all the money I can get.  They even took my cell-phone.  Let me explain something: I have a really crappy cell-phone.  Seriously: it is the crappiest cell-phone you have seen someone using in the past 5 years.  It is not only not a smart phone, it is a flip phone.  And when you text, you have to push the 2 button 3 times to get to the letter c.  It takes pictures, but none that you would ever want to see.  Even the little display on the front which might have shown me who was calling was cracked and opaque.  Who would want such a monstrosity?

While being robbed sucks, it could have been much worse.  My camera spends a lot of time in the car, but it wasn’t there last night.  They didn’t steal any of my stamps (in which I have made quite an investment).  My GPS was safe.  They didn’t take our passports or my credit cards, so I think our identities are somewhat safe.  But they did take my Kenyan money, which is a buzzkill and makes me think the thief must be kind of stupid.  They also did not take my change.  I have a lot.  I’ve got to say: it makes me think that thief is pretty lazy.  Also, I still have many many game tokens for the arcade games at the Museum, so, you know, I’m not totally broke.

Worst of all: I now feel I need to actually clean out my garage so my car can start sleeping there unmolested by thieving youths.  That is definitely NOT what I wanted to do with my last week of vacation!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Deborah permalink
    August 26, 2013 12:34 am

    That totally sucks! Darren had things taken from his care last summer–in our open garage. Ugh. They probably just chunked most of your things. Report it to the police, they occasionally find things.

  2. August 26, 2013 7:14 am

    Bummer. At least they didn’t take your car. Or maybe that’s what you were subconsciously hoping for by leaving it unlocked…

  3. Jeannette permalink
    August 26, 2013 11:52 am

    Seriously?! I’m so sorry! Sean’s bike got stolen…at the hospital…while working an overnight shift. Fun times. And we’ve had a scary situation at our house at 6am one morning (that I’ll have to tell you about at some other time.) I agree with Deborah…the Brighton police are pretty fantastic at investigative work!

Leave a Reply

