Skip to content

I don’t like Mondays

July 22, 2013

My “plan” for Monday was to head out refreshed for a jaunt through charming Wyoming and western Nebraska. I planned to stop wily nily, wherever we pleased. Instead I took advantage of the fact that family was staying at the same hotel and could watch my kids while I went and spent a few hours at a car repair place. Since I did not have an appointment, I was there when they opened and hoped they would take pity on me. They did, but their technicians did not come to work until an hour later. Then they took a while to diagnose the problem (a leak), to inform me they would have to order replacement parts but could fix it the next day (nope), and instead “re-charge” the system and wished me luck.

So, by the time I got back to the hotel, packed everyone in the car, hit Jamba Juice one last time, and dropped my sister downtown for a day of genealogy, I was an hour behind my mom. Oh yeah, my mom, and assorted other adult family members had also driven to Utah and back. They had four drivers in their car. They were Pony Expressing it, but with fresh drivers instead of fresh vehicles. I won’t tell you how much I wished one of them had volunteered to ride in my car and drive for a few hours. This one day, we left the same hotel in Utah in the morning and would be sleeping in the same hotel in Nebraska. But they had an hour on me. And a fully-functioning car. And all those drivers. I just knew they would have a leisurely day and reach the hotel hours before we did.

Since we left so late, and I knew it wouldn’t be good for any of us, but especially me, for us to be arriving in the wee hours, so we did not allow ourselves to become distracted. No stops for us. Not even 50 cent cones! We were dedicated to our I-80.

At 9 pm that night, I really wished I had been less ambitious in booking the hotel so far out. As we were finally ordering dinner, but were still at least an hour from our beds, I just knew that my mom and sisters were already tucked safely in their beds. Or swimming. Or reading. I knew they were doing SOMETHING I wanted to be doing.

After arrival, I was beat. Beat! The kids were sawing logs in a few minutes and after a bath, I did the same. When I saw my mom the next morning, she told me they had arrived 2 hours AFTER I did. I have NO explanation for how I could have actually beaten them by three hours, but I hope this can settle my Best Driver title once and for all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Deborah permalink
    July 29, 2013 7:11 am

    That is very sad that not one of them were willing to help you drive. I’m sorry.

    • July 29, 2013 5:27 pm

      I’m sure it didn’t occur to any of them; it’s not like they refused to do it.

  2. July 29, 2013 4:28 pm

    Hey – how about next time you feel like you need my help you go ahead and ask me. To be honest, I didn’t realize we were going to the same place that day. I really thought keeping your kids at the pool the night before, watching them that morning and making sure you had a gps that worked was the most helpful things I could do with the information that I had. Anyway, I don’t want to start a debate – there is no doubt you overcame great difficulties throughout this trek that deserve nothing but applause but I’m just saying for the future, you will ALWAYS get more/better assistance when you let your needs/desires be know!

  3. July 29, 2013 5:43 pm

    Yup, that stuff was helpful. I agree that I probably would get more help if I asked for it. I certainly don’t blame you for my car problems–it was a frustrating situation.

Leave a Reply

