Skip to content

Spiralling…

July 19, 2013

Today was supposed to be an easy day. I was hoping to sleep in. THAT didn’t happen! But we did take a swim after breakfast before our main event. We got to visit my dad’s parents in Malad today, with the added bonus of my Aunt Sheree being there. It was a great visit for me, and I hope not too overwhelming for my grandparents–I shooed my kids outside as often as I could. My GPS gave out on the way there, so I was gratified to find the house on my own!
malad
Afterwards, I decided to go see that famous Golden Spike: to my knowledge, I have never seen it. But my GPS was still on the fritz so I kind of made up my own route, which I’m pretty sure was not the most direct. This resulted in arriving 10 minutes after the site closed. Waaa-waaa. Major bummer. I mean major. So major, I may have to join the conspiracy theorists.

BUT, I saw one sign on the way that said “Spiral Jetty.” Of course, as any AP Art Historian would know, I knew what the Spiral Jetty was. I have even tried to find it before. It is well-hidden. My GPS was temporarily operating again and IT has never heard of the Spiral Jetty (my GPS was probably NOT an honors student in high school–I’m just guessing). But I though to myself: I don’t care how far it is and how dubious the path–this day needs some picking up and if I can see an environmental art installation, I will! So we headed off the paved path, following very unofficial-looking very occasional signs. And just when I thought it must have been uninstalled or some crazy weather had sunk it, some normal-looking guy headed in the opposite direction stopped and rolled down his window and started a conversation with me about aliens, and I KNEW the jetty must be there somewhere–clearly this was not a Utah farmer, but another oddball seeking art. Eventually, the road ended, and there was the jetty. I can’t tell you how excited my kids were to see it–big Smithson fans!
salt lake

I can’t remember the last time I saw the Great Salt Lake. It was a good outcome. Of course, we still had to find our way out of there. We saw one car coming in as we were going out–clearly as wary as I had been, thinking they couldn’t be in the right place. I assured them they were close and they couldn’t miss it. Sometimes that’s the most comforting thing to hear.
jetty

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Deborah permalink
    July 19, 2013 7:20 am

    Very cool you found the jetty. I’ve only seen pictures (in my art history books).

    You look more like your Aunt Sheree than you do your mom!

  2. Sheila permalink
    July 19, 2013 4:10 pm

    So glad you were able to visit them! Wish I could have been there, too. I didn’t even know there was the jetty–I’ll have to go look for it sometime.

  3. Sheree permalink
    July 19, 2013 5:44 pm

    I have never found the jetty.

  4. Ganie permalink
    July 19, 2013 9:36 pm

    I didn’t know you could drive to the jetty! I just flew over the Great Salt Lake a couple of days ago and wondered if it was still there. I’d say that saved the day!

  5. Erin permalink
    July 22, 2013 7:36 pm

    I’m jealous of BOTH visits!

  6. Hannah permalink
    July 24, 2013 1:06 am

    Ahhhh . . . Malad. I forgot you had family so close to Preston. I have loved hearing about your trip!

  7. Jeannette permalink
    July 24, 2013 8:08 pm

    Woah….your kids know who Robert Smithson is? That’s impressive. So is finding his art on Salt Lake! Way to go!

  8. July 25, 2013 2:04 pm

    I love that last picture.

Leave a Reply

