Skip to content

Verde Verde Cool

July 17, 2013

This morning began with a rear-ending which, I’ve got to tell you, is one of my LEAST favorite ways to start the day. Fortunately, a) I was the rear-ended, not the rear-endee and I MUCH prefer to remain blameless, and b) there was no visible damage and on a vehicle with 240K+ miles, I am looking for excuses to get a new car, anyway. No harm, no foul, although really, rear-ending a standing vehicle at a gas pump is totally loco and foul, isn’t it?

Today was the day we were going to Mesa Verde, the reason for our grand detour from our eventual family reunion. It is a National Park but also a World Heritage Site and, as anyone who has been there will tell you, it is super cool. Still, we couldn’t quite shake the grumpies brought on by a long line at the Visitors Center.
grumpy Or maybe he doesn’t like car accidents, either. We actually had, ahem, a number of issues today and when a helpful old man asked what the problem was, I told him the problem was that he was 4. I have found my 4-year-olds to be quite emotional. Well, birthdays are almost upon us.
hole
Nothing descending down a hole into darkness can’t solve.
all smiles
We climbed around some sites, had a picnic, took a tour, and all survived. PJ is toying with the idea of becoming a Park Ranger–I think he likes the hats.
PJkiva

Sample conversation with Amos, as we tackled the switchbacks down the canyon:
Amos:…so we can go twice.
Me: That’s right.
Amos: No one taught me that word.
Me: What word?
Amos: Twice. I made it up. It means “two times.”
Me: That’s a very handy word.
Amos: I know. Everyone uses it now.
Me: What a public service!
amos
For the record, he is also very tough (we have regular conversations about this). Amos is also, unfortunately, totally losing the Gentleman Contest, although there HAS been a significant uptick in pleases and thank yous.

As I have mentioned before, none of MY pictures can do such a place justice, so I will (mostly) spare you them. I will say that it is a very cool place and you should come. mesaverde But come before your knees give out–this was the route out of our tour and it was…something.
really
A little something I have learned on my travels is to read bulletin boards and we saw a sign for a free dance performance and went. It was part of a Ute family (the other part was participating in a Native American basketball game in Denver which could yield scholarship money, so, they couldn’t miss it!) and it was such a nice little conclusion to our stay. We may have been the only Americans in attendance, but we loved it and my kids were excited to meet “real and alive Indians” and hear their language. Keep your eyes on the bulletin boards, folks!
dancer

Tune in next time for another National Park, a new state, and the never-ending search for license plates from Hawaii, Rhode Island, and North Dakota!
atthetop

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ganie permalink
    July 17, 2013 1:56 am

    I have very vivid childhood memories of Mesa Verde and of climbing up the route from that very tour. (Living in Albuquerque, we got to go there multiple times–some of them even before I was 14 and embarrassed to be seen traveling with my family…) Despite the occasional grumpiness, you are very, very good at road trips!

    • July 17, 2013 9:15 am

      Lily even commented that, if we lived near here, she could come on field trips. I wonder what the particular appeal of visiting in a bus is.

  2. Deborah permalink
    July 17, 2013 8:00 am

    I’ve got to get my kids there. I’m running out of time. I’m glad Amos decided to like it. Kids look happy.

  3. Sheila permalink
    July 17, 2013 11:58 am

    I’m loving the descriptions of your travels. So sorry I won’t be able to see all of you! (We get lots of North Dakota plates here—so you should visit Montana!)

  4. Abbey permalink
    July 17, 2013 1:19 pm

    Tell Amos thanks for twice. I totally use that one all the time.

    Mesa Verde is very cool! I’ve been there twice (see! Right there, Amos!) and was fascinated by the whole place. I can’t wait to take my kiddos in a few years.

    You are a totally stellar mom. Your kids will remember this.

  5. Linda L permalink
    July 25, 2013 6:41 pm

    I really, really LOVED Mesa Verde – when it was time to leave Colorado, I cried! Such beauty . . .

Leave a Reply

