Skip to content

Oz

July 16, 2013

While we spent most of today working our way to the southwest corner of Colorado, we only took pictures in Kansas. We took a quick trip to the Cathedral of the Plains, which was, indeed, impressive.
cathedral
Inside, I realized that I need to give my kids a little more Catholic education because they had lots of questions about the confessionals and holy water and candles inside.
interior
We took advantage of the spacious parking lot and rode scooters for a few minutes. Amos tried some cool tricks.
cooltricks
Some other pioneers.
pioneers
We had lunch at a little cafe in Sugar City (a “city” with fewer than 300 people in it), which my kids declared “better than McDonalds.” I suppose that is progress as travelers-in-training.

I am currently trying to trick my boys into some better manners by running a Gentleman’s Contest. They get points for gentlemanly conduct and deductions for the opposite (especially potty talk). This contest is very casual: in fact, it is entirely in my head. And the prize for winning is, of course, becoming a gentleman. It feels a little like an uphill battle for a 4 and 6-year-old, but a worthy project, nonetheless.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    July 16, 2013 7:37 am

    What a beautiful cathedral.

  2. Deborah Pulley permalink
    July 16, 2013 8:11 am

    Whatever it takes to become Gentlemen… So smart to bring the scooters.

  3. Amy-Alisa permalink
    July 16, 2013 10:20 am

    I love your on-the-road posts! My kids can’t wait to see yours this weekend. Happy travels.

  4. Ganie permalink
    July 16, 2013 12:32 pm

    I *love* the Cathedral of the Plains! Passed the exit for years on cross-country treks before finally stopping in for a visit. I’ve been trying to work out where you’re headed, but I’m sure all will be revealed in due course…

Leave a Reply

