Skip to content

Flyover states

July 14, 2013

We started off the day with bootcamp by Lily:
bootcamp
They ran laps and did stretches while I made some strategic seat assignments in the car. I realize it is a bad sign when I need to do that on only the second day, but I am a teacher and it is my first level of intervention.

When we had been in the car for a very brief time, I started seeing national park signs for Abraham Lincolns’ Springfield home and library. You know I have a weakness for those brown signs! So we stopped and toured and it was lovely and not crowded and almost free. Just remind me not to use Mary Todd as interior design inspiration; this is the only wallpaper in the house they KNOW was original:
marytodd

Now if only we could chase down his birthplace and boyhood homes on the way back east, we will have hit 4/5 Abraham Lincoln-related national park sites! (Well, 5/5 for me, but I haven’t taken my kids to Ford’s Theatre yet).
lincolnhome

Then we just kept trucking across this middle-west. We got stares EVERY place we went, which always catches me off-guard. Where we live, we just aren’t that strange. But I guess we are here. I am not sure it is even the confusion over who is this white woman with black kids so much as: whoa! black people! As I have already complained about on FaceBook, a woman did ask me if I was my kids’ grandmother. I can’t even understand this question. It’s not like I was wearing a mumu and passing out gum, or anything. She then asked me if I was married or single and once I confessed to being single (why was I even talking to her? let alone answering these crazy questions?) she asked me if my kids were “real” siblings and, when I confirmed that they were, talked a little about the travesty of breaking up families in the foster care system. So in her innocent Missouri-mind, the ONLY way a single woman could have some black kids is if they are adopted. Ugh. Maybe I should have straightened her out, but I actually didn’t want to talk to her and she asked if she could pray for us, and I never turn those down. Plus, she was wearing a sun-visor as part of her work uniform, and you have to feel for people in that situation. Heck, I am going to pray for HER! She was really nice, too, and this is further proof that you can say outrageous things if you do so kindly.

Just two states tomorrow, but it is looking to be a looooooooong day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2013 11:56 pm

    That was a great laugh! Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Also, you can throw out any insult you’d ever dream of and it will not be ‘offensive’ as long as you follow it up with, ‘bless her heart…’

  2. Deborah permalink
    July 15, 2013 7:10 am

    I love those brown signs, too. Sounds like it’s going well, despite the stupid people you’re meeting.

Leave a Reply

