Skip to content

And so it begins…again

July 13, 2013

Day 1:
mileageday1
718 miles: 5 states: 1 driver: 3 WTFs, 2 This American Lifes, and a handful of Planet Moneys.

My kids colored and painted most of the day–do you suppose that will last another day? I sure don’t. For them, the highlight was definitely a stop at Chick-Fil-A in Ohio, complete with a dancing cow. They are now decompressing with Americas’ Funniest Home Videos which they seem never to have seen before. They’ve been showing the same episode for twenty years, right? I can’t believe You Tube has not killed this show.

Do you suppose my kids KNOW that NO OTHER kids in America drive across the country without movies and games in the car? I heard a This American Life recently about a family that went WAY overboard trying to convince their kids that Santa Clause existed, which their now adult kids blame for trust issues in their adult lives (if their parents could lie to them so blatantly, how can they believe ANYONE and ANYTHING?). Sometimes I wonder if my kids will have a similar realization at some point in their lives: wait, you mean not EVERYONE goes to bed at 7? Some people’s MOMs make their lunch? What? You watched movies in your car!? They don’t question these familial norms (to me), but guess I won’t be too surprised if they do.

The fruit of our days labors:
platesday1

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Deborah permalink
    July 13, 2013 11:35 pm

    Making good time. Are you on a caffeine high?

  2. July 13, 2013 11:52 pm

    Really, no Game Boys?

  3. Linda L permalink
    July 16, 2013 7:38 am

    Hey, I do the license plate game all the time, even when it’s just me in the car!

Leave a Reply

