Skip to content

Capitalism begins at home

May 6, 2013

My kids would nickel and dime me on the chores if they could. Actually, they ask if I will pay them a dollar for just about anything they do that they find inconvenient:
I’ll take out the recycles if you give me a dollar.
If I pick up sticks can I get a dollar?
I’ll only put on my pajamas if you give me a dollar!

It’s not nearly as charming as it sounds, I assure you. Oh, it doesn’t even sound charming? Agreed. You’d think it must have succeeded once or twice to be so persistent, but as far as I know, it hasn’t. I do see an uptick in these requests after they’ve been around their other, parent, though. I guess that is the perk of not living with your kids: you can avoid their constant attempts to impoverish you while simultaneously annoying the other parent.

Anyway, it is no surprise to me that my kids are money-hungry. It was, however, a surprise to come home to this:
lemonade stand
Don’t tell the health department.
drive thru
I do love the drive by service.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Deborah Pulley permalink
    May 6, 2013 8:44 pm

    sweet neighbor

Leave a Reply

