Skip to content

The Rules of the Game

April 28, 2013

I recently went out of town and it was pretty exciting. Oh sure, this happened
dance
That’s my babiest brother: married.

But the big deal was this
ladies!
Yes, I am NOW aware that there was some dust on my lens. Melissa is also an angel!

Roommate reunion! I had lots of lovely roommates in college, but these are some of my favorites! Kate and I were in from opposite coasts and all four of us happened to have a few of the same free hours. We descended on Jamie’s super cute house to…play cards! Kate’s husband thought we were joking about that, but we showed him. Jamie gave us a refresher course on one of our favorite games and it was a blast, not just because I was leading when we had to stop.

Mormon Bridge/Damn it to Hell

o Deal cards: first hand is one card, successive rounds go up to seven and then back down to one.
o Flip the top card on the deck to get the trump suit.
o Everyone bets on how many hands they will win, using their hand to guess
o Person to the left of the dealer starts, playing card of his choice (on larger hands)—subsequent players must follow lead suit if they can
o Player with highest card in the leading suit OR trump suit wins hand
o Players get scores of +10 for each hand they win that they bid to win
o -10 for each hand you were wrong about

Next trip: Uno!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mere permalink
    April 29, 2013 2:05 pm

    Emily – this sounds exactly like a game Curtis and I have been obsessed with for the past three years called Wizard. We need to play!

  2. April 29, 2013 10:11 pm

    I don’t do well with games that are much more complicated than Go Fish. I don’t like Go Fish, but I can pretty much keep the rules straight.

Leave a Reply

