Skip to content

It’s Always Sunny….

April 7, 2013

When I paid the plumbers several hundred dollars to pull a hunk of tree root out of my clay pipes, I thought I probably SHOULD forget about getting out of town for a little bit: that was my fun money. But, you know what? I just don’t have the financial discipline for that. We didn’t do anything special for winter break and I really wanted to mark this break with something more substantial than free swim lessons at the Y. So we went to Philadelphia anyway. I figured I could get a bunch of reading done in the hotel room (nope) and that my kids would feel like it was a treat to sleep on a pull-out sofa bed (yup). Most importantly to my kids: we ate at both Ikea and Chick-Fil-A. We also:

Took a Duck Tour
ducks
It was pretty good. I am not typically a tour kind of person, but this was a nice little orientation and, of course, my kids enjoyed the road and river aspect of the ride. I thought the driver made a great historical presentation (duck puns notwithstanding) but PJ informed me that he worked really hard to ignore all the “facts” she kept saying.

Saw the Liberty Bell
liberty
You can see how excited my kids are about their freedom: Republicans in the making, I’m sure.

Visited the Insectarium
You can’t really tell from the website, but this is a baby museum. Have you ever seen a museum collection that wasn’t much more than a private collection? This is about one step beyond a collection of dead butterflies in someone’s basement. It is located above an exterminator’s shop well outside of the museum district. Yet it was one of Amos’ main draws to the city, so we went. On one floor, there were dead bugs and a super-gross model kitchen overrun with live cockroaches; not special exotic ones, just the kind that live in apartments. The top floor had live bugs in tanks and some you could hold, but why would you WANT to?!
lacocarocha

Blitz of the Philadelphia Museum of Art

By the way: it seems that many more people come to reenact a Rocky run than to see art.

By the way: it seems that many more people come to reenact a Rocky run than to see art.


Aside from the Mutter Museum, this was the main reason I have wanted to visit the City of Brotherly Love for YEARS. Now, I really couldn’t submit my kids to the nightmare-inducing medical oddities of the Mutter YET (someday, I’m sure), but I tried to make a deal with them about the Art Museum: EVERYTHING else we were doing was for THEM, but this was something I wanted to see. And so it was that I got to visit one of the finest art collections in the country with three desperately disinterested whiny children. Guess who hates to see kids at the art museum? Everyone! Patrons are really not excited when you walk into their gallery and interrupt their communion with their favorite John Singer Sargents. Security guards are not charmed when your six-year-olds just can’t keep their hands off the Rodin sculptures. Art students actually don’t love to have your preschoolers want to jump in and paint WITH them as they copy a Renaissance portrait. Ugh. PJ was quite good at guessing the time of day the impressionist paintings were painted at and Amos was a whiz at counting the number of dogs included in each room but Lily just wasn’t charmed by Trompe L’oeil and pretty much EVERY minute we were there SOMEONE was asking when we could leave. We didn’t last long. I think I need an adults only trip to Philadelphia.

Please Touch
Although my GPS clearly DID NOT want us to visit, we did anyway. Although the price caught me off guard (no more reciprocity, whah!) and the fact that we visited on Saturday morning (ahhhh!) it really is a great museum.
pleasetouch

Wild Rumpus at Smith Playhouse and Playground
LOVED this stop. We stayed WAY TOO LONG.
slide
Also, PJ was VERY excited to inform me that MOST of the kids there had “skin like mine.” By which he means, they were black kids. So far, he is by far my most sensitive kid on this front: he often discusses race with me and likes to make those observations. He was ecstatic about playing here. It makes me think we need to hit some different playgrounds back home.

One more time at the Art Museum
How do you get kids to return to someplace they hated the day before? Promise them we will see the armor, of course!
armor
One sweet security guard did not seem to loathe us and he performed a special knighting ceremony for Sir PJ. It made his day.

See you next time!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeannette permalink
    April 7, 2013 4:02 pm

    Are you serious about the girls trip? I would 100% be there, that’s if I were to be invited. I have never been to Philadelphia (Gasp! Yelp! Ooo!)

    • April 7, 2013 7:51 pm

      If Sean wants to watch all the kids, I’d happily go with you.

      • Jeannette permalink
        April 8, 2013 12:40 pm

        I see no issue there! 🙂

  2. Deborah permalink
    April 7, 2013 6:19 pm

    Looks like lots of fun. Glad to see you did the Duck Tour. Hope it wasn’t the worst part of the trip!

  3. Rachey permalink
    May 4, 2013 11:50 pm

    Come join us at some of the parks in our neighborhood!

Leave a Reply

