Skip to content

Easter Bunny Booty

March 30, 2013

My Easter Bunny duty is done for another year! I was not super-prepared this year as I had desperately hoped to be out of town. But I am not. So Easter Bunny I must be. Don’t get me wrong: I don’t actually talk about the Easter Bunny with my kids AT ALL. If I’m not going to lie to them about Santa, I am certainly not going to lie to them about a giant magical rabbit bringing them baskets of goodies! Besides, I like to get all the credit for the good stuff that goes on around here. We do Easter Baskets on Saturday because it is always a fun surprise for my kids (they never remember) and it doesn’t interfere with getting ready for Church on Sunday and it’s a good separation from the real, meaningful Easter.

easterbunny booty
Included:
1–Mentos–an aunt in Kenya introduced my kids to these, and they LOVE them
2–Yan Yams and Koalas
3–Fruit Roll-Ups and pink lemonade Bunny snacks; my kids have declared jelly-beans “disgusting”
4–A punching balloon
5–Fresh sidewalk chalk
6–A new toothbrush–I never miss a holiday!
7–A new water bottle
8–Something sporty: scooter for Amos, soccer gear for PJ, and workout clothes/bike helmet for Lily–we are ALL ready for them to get outside!
9–Star Wars Guess Who–something to play together on a Sunday
10–A sling-shot. This is a special family item and I started to get worried about giving them to my kids until I had a brilliant idea: They each get a pack of ping-pong balls or practice golf balls (basically tiny wiffle balls) to go with them. Since non of their friends have sling-shots, I am hopeful they will feel satisfied to shoot with this light-weight ammunition. I have made each of them a soda-bottle target for practice.
targets

Because it was one of my favorite childhood memories, I created a scavenger hunt to the baskets. I hope this hunt will be long enough and fun enough to let me sleep in a bit. One of the clues is located in the sandbox, which I have newly filled with water gel beads. I am crossing my fingers that will entertain them for a while!
openme

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Deborah permalink
    March 30, 2013 7:35 am

    Wow. That’s impressive for someone who doesn’t believe in the Easter bunny. I’ve got nothing for my kids as of Saturday morning. Ugh.

  2. Ganie permalink
    March 30, 2013 11:42 pm

    I’d like to see what you’d come up with if you *were* super-prepared…

  3. Erin permalink
    March 31, 2013 4:20 pm

    I want to play Star Wars Guess Who!!

Leave a Reply

