Skip to content

I ROCKED this Day

January 11, 2013

It doesn’t happen often, in fact, I am not sure it has ever happened before, but I felt like I did this day RIGHT.
• Early morning at the gym
• Full and productive day at work, including exchanging about the 20th e-mail with the mother of one of my students—she has been my student for 2 DAYS. Hear that parents? If you are wondering if you are e-mailing your kids’ teachers too much, you probably are. Because guess what? I have more than one student, I have no planning time, and I only have a scheduled lunch on Tuesdays: I DON’T have time to debate educational philosophies, answer your questions about your child’s technology project, change the way the guidance office operates, or alter New York state law for you. Sorry. When can I stop replying? Day 3? E-mail 50? Ugh.
• Ran into the Apple Store and only had to talk to 3 geniuses to get my question answered.
• Ran an actual errand—I got my oil changed! That probably doesn’t sound fun, and it wasn’t, but it needed to be done. And on a work day? Unheard of! Usually I get to do crap like that on Saturday!
• Picked up kids at 3 separate locations all around town, and even had a snack on hand.
• Took the children to their choice of amusement, not mine, but we mostly had a good time and only had one breakdown.
museum

• Dinner at Dogtown! It’s been too long.
• Bedtime.
• Folding clothes and catching up on The Daily Show and Colbert Report.

Tell me that’s not impressive! I’m beat.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Deborah permalink
    January 12, 2013 5:53 pm

    That is impressive! That Amos is a hoot.

  2. January 12, 2013 10:03 pm

    You’re a rock star. I’m totally serious.

  3. January 16, 2013 1:33 pm

    Congratulations!

    When I have a day like that, I feel free to take the rest of the week off. I don’t think that’s how it’s supposed to work.

Leave a Reply

