Skip to content

Anniversary Date for Sweet and Tender Hooligans

October 21, 2012

Morrissey and I have been seeing each other for 20 years now. We really only see each other when he brings a band out on tour and if he plays within 100 miles of me, I’ll pay him to play me some music and sing me some songs and he does. Sure, he invites a couple hundred or thousand other people, too. Oh, and I usually get a souvenir t-shirt! So…it’s kind of a weird relationship. But it has worked for us so far. On Friday, Morrissey came to Niagara Falls and so did I. I know he was expecting me:

The show was General Admission and, let’s face it, I’m really too old for General Admission. I had no interest in waiting outside for hours and then protecting my space at the front. So I just came. An hour or two after the doors opened. Pretty perfect timing, actually. Plus, since I don’t drink, I didn’t have to worry about leaving my spot to go get a drink or to relieve myself. As a teacher, I am perfectly comfortable standing for a few hours. Still, as an old fogey, I wasn’t going to muscle my way to far forward. But as someone who does stuff by myself (alone, solo, etc.), I could get pretty close without trying. I was probably within 10 feet of Morrissey when he came to our side of the stage–there were maybe 5 people between us (and a pit). So yeah, Morrissey totally checked me out.

Sidenote: it must suck to be an opening act. But it must really suck to be Morrissey’s opening act, because really, we only have eyes for him. Plus, how does Morrissey chose an opening act when he hates everyone?

My satisfaction at Morrissey concerts directly correlates with how many Smiths songs Morrissey sings. Poor guy: he did his best work in his twenties. Sure, there have been some great songs in his solo years, but there have been some real clunkers, too. Anyway, Morrissey does a lot more Smiths songs now then he used to, and that makes me a happy customer. Aside from “Meat is Murder” with accompanying horrifying film (way to bring us down, man), it was an upbeat night. With the ideal encore:

No gifts were exchanged, unless you factor in the money I paid him and the t-shirt I brought home.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Deborah permalink
    October 21, 2012 11:30 pm

    How fun!! Who did you go with?

  2. Melissa permalink
    October 24, 2012 8:22 am

    The two of you make an adorable team. He has probably missed you terribly so he had to have an extra good show just for you. What a lovely anniversary!

  3. Melissa permalink
    October 27, 2012 10:58 am

    So now Morrissey’s mother is in hospital, as they say. Guess who doesn’t get an anniversary date with Morrissey. Why is my luck so terrible?

    • October 28, 2012 7:23 pm

      Ugh! He told a funny story about his mom at our concert. I’m so sorry!

  4. October 28, 2012 9:14 pm

    Oh, I’m so glad you take the time to work on your relationship. It’s the only way it stays fresh and alive.

    Also, had a similar experience about the downer song at a Jane’s Addiction concert last winter. It was all super awesome and then they busted out some horrible song with this awful performance art crap where this guy was dismembering a doll or something, sort of from the perspective of a disaffected teen. We were all like “uh, look around – everyone in the audience is like forty. We’re all over the ‘my parents don’t understand me’ bit.”

Leave a Reply

