Skip to content

Baptism by Water

September 21, 2012

Tonight was Lily’s baptism. It was really fantastic. Perhaps you, dear reader, would think “how could it NOT be” but I really have been stressing about this for a year or so, thinking of SO many ways it could NOT be. Then I had some inexplicable (still unfathomable to me, really) obstacles to overcome in merely scheduling the baptism. I cannot even articulate that, so let’s just move on.

A baptism only happens once (hopefully), and it is something that I wanted Lily to remember for the right reasons: to remember her feelings and the love expressed by her friends who came. I was so lucky to have the support (such an over-used term, but I can’t think of a better one) of family and friends in our congregation. My mom went to great lengths to make a lovely dress for the occasion (so lovely I will try to recover from the trauma of not having our family dress, the one me and all my sisters were baptized in, available–I still can’t quite admit that it might be [gulp] gone) and, of course, produced a lovely spread. The program was sleek I thought–no fluff. I like that. Ordinance-wise, they just don’t take too much time, so why elongate the evening? Especially with littler ones present, I was, perhaps, trying to avoid time-bombs BUT, efficient meetings please me.

Most importantly, Lily had a perfect experience for her. And Peter JUST CAN”T WAIT to get baptized and wants to do it TODAY. I couldn’t ask for anything more.

Here is Lily with many iterations of her family. And a self-portrait–such a child of the 2000s.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. kelly permalink
    September 22, 2012 2:46 pm

    The dress was beautiful, on to new traditions! She looked great, Lena can’t wait to get baptized. So glad for Lily’s example. We love lily.

  2. Deborah Pulley permalink
    September 22, 2012 4:07 pm

    The dress was beautiful, as was Lily. Bea told me she loved Lily’s hair down. A wonderful night all around. Good job.

  3. Ganie permalink
    September 22, 2012 7:10 pm

    It was a beautiful baptism. I especially loved what you wrote about Lily in the program.

  4. Joanna permalink
    September 23, 2012 9:36 pm

    It was lovely- just like Lily.

  5. Nick Sorensen permalink
    September 23, 2012 10:39 pm

    That’s a particularly charming smile Lily has in one of those pictures. I look forward to meeting her some time.

  6. September 28, 2012 12:07 pm

    Congratulations to Lily! She looks lovely.

  7. Naomi Sloan permalink
    September 30, 2012 10:28 pm

    So I’m just going to say what everyone else said–Lily is so beautiful! And so are you. And so are all of the iterations of the family.

  8. Rosalynde permalink
    October 28, 2012 9:29 pm

    I’m really late to comment here, but couldn’t not say congratulations to Lily! So happy for her that her dad was there. And congratulations to you, too, for pulling off a wonderful event. Great job, cuz!

Leave a Reply

