Skip to content

Top of the World

August 14, 2012

One of the hikes from Rondo takes you through a bit of the rainforest to a hill that takes you above the canopy. I knew we could do it.

Well, I thought we could do it.

I hoped we could do it.

Initially, I thought we should hike that the afternoon we arrived, even though tea was being brought to our cottage in 2 hours. We got a little side-tracked by some fascinating monkeys and lost our steam, so I scrapped the idea for that afternoon and assured the kids that the hike would best be accomplished right after breakfast the next day.

Right after breakfast the next day, PJ did his best to find some monkeys to side-track us again. Amos tried to distract us from hiking by breaking the camera. Lily rolled her eyes and threw out all sorts of other non-verbal communications indicating both that we were never going to make it and that we were totally ruining everything. It’s kind of amazing what she can say without saying anything.

Complaints heard along the way:
It’s too hot.
It’s too sunny.
This rainforest isn’t rainy enough.
It’s too muddy.
It’s too shadey.
It’s too boring.
It’s too long.
It’s too quiet.
There’s a butterfly on me!
It’s too far.
There’s not enough people here.

Believe it or not, we made it anyway. The hike doesn’t get serious until you hit the hill and get out of the trees. We hit the bat cave and then headed, what felt like, straight up. I’m pretty sure there were some other longer trails to the top, but I opted for shorter and straighter. I think I chose wrong.

Onward and upward, Lily and PJ led the way. Amos and I whined from behind. Eventually, we made it.

I’m proud of myself, Mom.
You should feel proud of yourself, PJ–that was a hard thing you did.
Let’s NEVER do that again!

Coming down was, of course, much worse. When will we ever learn? Still it had to be done, even though I had to have Amos on my back. And this time, we had lunch waiting for us at the end of the trail.

Ahhhh, Rondo: a mere 3 airplanes, 1 8 hour bus ride, 2 hours on a matatu, and 15 kms on a rough road on the back of a motorcycle away.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Deborah Pulley permalink
    September 3, 2012 8:43 pm

    Amazing countryside. I love to see your pictures.

Leave a Reply

