Skip to content

No Chores, please

June 25, 2012

I don’t want to brag (OK, maybe I do), but my pre-noon first day of summer has gone pretty well! I’ll take my small successes, especially if that is the only size success I’m likely to get! For years I have envisioned this Jobs board, but this is the first year I have actually gotten it together.

It worked!

Each of my children woke up, chose their jobs, and DID them without complaint. The ones who needed a little guidance even told me that they enjoyed it and asked if they could do extra and expressed excitement at doing it all over again tomorrow. I realize this is Day 1: let me enjoy it. Please. I attribute only 1% of the success of the scheme to the fact that they get to move their magnetized faces around. If nothing else productive happens today, this is still 100% more work than got done yesterday.

By the way, I refuse to call these “chores.” That has such a negative connotation! I don’t like to do chores! But jobs, they just have to get done. We don’t have to reflect on whether or not we want to do them, we do them because we must.

I’ll report back in 60 days–until then, work well, friends.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    June 25, 2012 9:42 pm

    That’s a great idea – love the movable faces. I hope it works because then I will steal this idea and implement it in Arkansas.

  2. Erin permalink
    June 25, 2012 10:02 pm

    That’s awesome.

  3. Deborah Pulley permalink
    June 29, 2012 8:06 am

    Your job chart looks fantastic! You must be a teacher.

Leave a Reply

