Skip to content

And Venus was her Name

June 6, 2012

I woke up yesterday thinking that it was a normal day. Granted, I couldn’t quite keep straight whether it was a Tuesday or a Wednesday, but I was certain that it was a normal Tuesday or Wednesday. A day I would go to work, come home, make dinner, send the kids to bed, and then party. OK, that’s not really a normal day, but sometimes it FEELS like a party after the kids are in bed.

Instead, my neighbor mentioned that he was setting up his telescope in his garage to see Venus travel across the sun which would not happen again until 2117. Or something. This seemed like a pretty normal thing to do, except, that I had no idea that such a thing a)happened, b)was happening that day, c)could be viewed by mere mortals, or d)had been eagerly anticipated by many. Fortunately, I have the kind of neighbor who knows this stuff, does this stuff, and sends his kids around the neighborhood to round up willing spectators.

We gathered.

We documented.

We relished the experience.

By the way, she’s got it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 9:27 pm

    Lucky you with the neighbor and all. I had no idea until the next day. Lame.

  2. June 14, 2012 4:02 pm

    It was cloudy here, so I watched the webcast from Mauna Kea. How cool to be able to go next door?

Leave a Reply

