Skip to content

Something to Brag About

May 10, 2012

Pulling myself out of my hammock and marking my place in my book, I supposed it was time to start dinner. As I slid the back door shut behind me, I could hear an excited, “Mom, mom” from the front room. Soon Amos had found me in the kitchen, eyes shining, and a big smile on his face. He clearly had some exciting news to share. Judging from his backwards pants, I already knew what it was.

“Mom! I used the toilet….”
“And?”
“I put my pants on by myself!”*
“You did?”
“I did!”
“Awesome! Give me five! You are such a BIG kid!”

And then I was back to making dinner. But that minute-long conversation where someone, anyone, just has to share their news and they have been waiting for YOU because no one else will care like YOU do makes most of the clean-up and meals and inability to have anything nice or to go anywhere fun worth it, right?

Not vomit, though. Nothing makes cleaning up other people’s vomit “worth it.”

*When potty-training, I encourage my boys to sit on the toilet backwards because it makes them feel more stable; doing so, however, necessitates the removal of at least one leg from the pants in its’ entireity. I have not yet been able to convince Amos that he can turn around now that he knows he isn’t going to fall in.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 11:34 am

    Awesome!

  2. Hannah permalink
    May 10, 2012 11:52 am

    It does make it worth it!

  3. Deborah Pulley permalink
    May 14, 2012 8:16 pm

    Lovely sentiment!

Leave a Reply

