Skip to content

Palm Sunday at the Church with the Red Door

April 1, 2012

Otherwise known as our local Episcopalian church.

Truthfully, I wasn’t feeling all that excited about visiting another church this week, which is what we do on General Conference Sundays. Our last visit was to the Mennonites, and that was kind of a high–I didn’t think I would enjoy another service as much as I did that one and even thought of going back. Then I realized that this would be Palm Sunday, so I knew I had to find someplace with a Palm Service. Even after all the pep talks of “this is much shorter than our church” and “you can change your clothes when we get home,” my kids were just not good during the service. The service in which we were given giant leaves to wave around, we marched both inside and out, and they even had cookies at the end! Oh well. When they are literate, I’ll encourage them to bring books. I really can’t understand why this kind of cultural anthropology does not appeal to three-year-olds!

Good things to remember: at every service we have attended, members of the congregation have been extraordinarily welcoming–I need to do that better; Peter is now convinced that the chairs at our church are the “most comfortable in the world”–I’ll remind him of that; Lily believes that our church feels much shorter–I’ll remind her of that.

Lastly, P.J. asked what the big T at the front of the chapel was. Uh, yeah, we ARE Christians!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephani Teran permalink
    April 1, 2012 12:37 pm

    How cool! I love this idea, Emily! It has been ages since I went to Mass. I am going on St.Patrick’s Day next year for sure!

  2. Deborah permalink
    April 2, 2012 7:23 am

    I think that church is one of the prettiest in town. What a neat experience you are giving your kids.

  3. sorensenar permalink
    April 2, 2012 9:05 pm

    AND you can take pictures during the service.

  4. April 3, 2012 1:31 am

    I used to enjoy visiting other churches on conference Sundays, but I haven’t done that since I’ve been married. I don’t think I’ve ever been to an Episcopal service. I can’t imagine taking my kids to another church. Not that I don’t want to expose them to other faiths–I’d like to. I’d just be too humiliated when (not if) they misbehaved.

Leave a Reply

