Skip to content

Daffodilly Dilly

March 23, 2012

Following last year’s debacle, I didn’t dare tell the children where we were headed. Instead, I pretended we were “sploring” and that the water and the climbable trees were our main purpose.

While flinging sticks in the water and scaling trees was fun, I told the kids we were hunting for gold.
“No way!” said Lily.
“Where?” asked P.J.
“Really sploring,” affirmed Amos.

But when we actually got there, they all claimed to be disappointed.
“I thought there’d be money!” complained Lily.
“Flowers?” whined P.J.
“This is NOT ‘sploring,” reproved Amos.

Ah well. At least no one cried this year.

On the way back to the car, P.J. confided, sheepishly, that he really DID like the flowers. “When I was running over the flowers with my transformer, I was just tricking you,” he explained.

Well played, P.J.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2012 6:46 am

    This looks cool, I want to do it with my boys! Question though, how long is the longer trek that you took last year? Is there water this year or might it be a better experience this year?

    • March 24, 2012 9:51 am

      It might be a better experience this year–I didn’t try it. The longer trek is only .7 miles. The shorter one is .2.

  2. Meredith permalink
    March 24, 2012 10:29 am

    I am so glad this went better this year!

Trackbacks

  1. Third Time’s a Charm | The Chronicles of O

Leave a Reply

