Skip to content

More than the Most

March 20, 2012

Part I: The Ritual
I don’t know how it started, but at some point, we developed this little back-and-forth we do at bedtime. It goes something like this:
Me: I love you.
Child: I love you more.
Me: I love you most.
Child tries desperately to top that, but my superlative knowledge of superlatives never allows them to love me more than the most, and I always win.

Part II: The Boy
I believe PJ will someday be lucky in love; he is handsome and sweet, funny and laid back–a lot like me but attractive. Ladies have been saying inappropriate things to him since he was born. I mean, isn’t it creepy to ask if you can date a diaper-wearing kid in a stroller? I think so. But this little guy attracts the females, that’s for sure.

Part III: The Letter
In the mail today, I get a hand-written letter from an unknown address, and I admit, I was quite suspicious. Had it been the size of a card, I would have guessed it to be a thank-you or birthday invitation, but this wasn’t like that. Inside, I found a note from the mom of someone in PJ’s preschool class. Apparently, her daughter REALLY likes PJ, and he is even willing to discuss Tangled with her ad infinitum (I had heard that someone at school liked Tangled and that they had discussed it “for hours”). To repay his kindness, this girl insisted on dispatching artwork through the mail, and dictating a letter.

Heaven help us.
She is a good little colorer, though.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meredith permalink
    March 20, 2012 8:02 pm

    That’s awesome!

  2. March 21, 2012 8:39 am

    don’t teach your kids the meaning of “infinity.” Our ritual ends in “I love you infinity. Ha! I win.” This is a great post.

Leave a Reply

