Skip to content

Come and Knock on Our Door…

March 5, 2012

We’ve been waiting for you…
Where the old drafty single-paned door retired
Our new door is here!

Come and dance on our porch…
Ring that snazzy doorbell…
Admire that weatherstripped threshold (oh wow!)
Our new door is here!

Just in case you don’t care, here is what we have had:

I don’t know how to hang a wreath on this new one, or what to do with the ledge, but I’m so glad it’s here–it was a looooong time coming. My other concern was matching my existing interior trim, because they just don’t make doors in circa 1930s gumwood anymore! Not a perfect match, but pretty good, I think. Much warmer, more secure, easier for the kids to open (and not have BLOWN open), and possible to lock. Hurray!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. katrina permalink
    March 5, 2012 6:28 pm

    Oh, I really like it! That glass is lovely!

  2. joanna permalink
    March 5, 2012 9:27 pm

    oh la la! Lovely!!

  3. kelly permalink
    March 5, 2012 10:17 pm

    it’s true, a couple of weeks ago Lindsey called me and said ” I think Emily’s front door is open” I walked myself across the street, and sure enough, BLOWN wide open.
    The door is seriously gorgeous.

    • March 5, 2012 11:06 pm

      I do have great neighbors–yes, this has happened more than once. Hopefully no more.

  4. marta permalink
    March 6, 2012 1:26 pm

    Love it. interestingly, my new door looks like your old one.

  5. Amy Thomason permalink
    March 6, 2012 3:21 pm

    Very nice, Emily. Love the red post box too.

  6. Sheila permalink
    March 8, 2012 2:43 pm

    What a gorgeous door. Seriously!

  7. March 9, 2012 5:59 pm

    ‘Tis a fine door indeed…and a reminder that one of these days, I need to do something about that mess of a screen door out front over here.

Leave a Reply

