Skip to content

Lentish

February 22, 2012

Every year, I think I ought to give something up for Lent. While Lent is not a part of my religious practice, I can always get behind a little self-denial. Problem is, I have never successfully denied myself anything I actually wanted for the entire time of Lent, mostly because I decide before it starts that I will not succeed. This year is no exception. To wit, my list of things that I THOUGHT about giving up for Lent and then decided (generally within 1 second) was too hard:

• Chocolate
• Soda
• Self-pity
• Sugar
• Bread
• Excuses
• Flour
• French fries
• Blogs
• Facebook
• Late nights
• Sleeping in
• Frustration
• Candy
• Cheese
• Meat
• Rice
• Online reading
• TV
• Target
• A messy laundry room

Oh well. Maybe next year.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meredith permalink
    February 23, 2012 9:02 am

    LOL

  2. Hannah permalink
    February 23, 2012 2:49 pm

    I, too, like the idea of Lent. I decided to give up treats (with the exception of birthday cake). Wednesday morning I was in agony even though on any other day I wouldn’t have had a treat before 10 o’clock anyway. It was simply the fact that I knew I “couldn’t” have it that made me want it. Needless to say, I’m pretty sure I won’t make it forty days 🙂

Leave a Reply

