Skip to content

My Own Personal Sophie’s Choice

January 25, 2012

Two Overdue books. (Sorry to disappoint you, Ryan Gosling). Both partially read. Both enjoyed. Both non-renewable. I decide I can bite the bullet and take the fines for a day or two to finish one. But which one?

The non-fiction is compelling reading, but I have read it before. There are lots of copies in the system, so I might be able to get it again soon, but it is also very popular. It will be the basis of discussion at the next book club, so I don’t have a lot of time to get it again.

The fiction is also enjoyable. I am 2/3rds of the way through and could probably finish in one night if I buckle down and quit watching The State of the Union. This book is not in demand, but there are many fewer copies. It is also a book club book, but we won’t discuss it for a few months.

Uh! How do you decide?

(Oh, you check out one book at a time and read it in a timely manner? I don’t want to hear about it!)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Jo Pfaff permalink
    January 25, 2012 1:45 pm

    Well I say read the one that is abscure and that you haven’t read before. I am so thankful for Wadsworth library because they are doing a foodfor fines drive in Feb and seeing as I have a $24 fine I plan to go to Aldi’s purchase a flat of some 33 cent canned veggies and be done with my pesky fine. Oh and helping those in need. This is admittedly a purely selfish deed. Hopefully the man upstairs won’t judge to harshly.

    • January 25, 2012 3:03 pm

      That’s a good idea. I generally don’t mind library fines–I view them as a contribution–but I do think the new fee for holds is ridiculous.

  2. the in-famous Lindsay S permalink
    January 25, 2012 1:47 pm

    I didn’t know you were such a big Ryan Gosling fan . . .

  3. amy permalink
    January 25, 2012 4:25 pm

    I always feel super guilty about overdue books, but have kept a book for a week when I knew it was due to finish it. Skim the last few pages of the one you’ve read before as a refresher and return it. Keep the other and get through it asap.

    Our last library was super strict and you could not check out anything new if you were overdue.

    Our current one, in contrast, has a 2 week grace period for overdue books! How crazy is that?

  4. joanna permalink
    January 25, 2012 10:21 pm

    what are you reading? That’s what I want to know.

    • January 26, 2012 6:47 am

      The non-fiction was Nurtureshock and the fiction was The Heretic’s Daughter.

  5. January 26, 2012 1:21 pm

    I like both those books. I want to reread Nutureshock and I liked The Heretic’s Daughter a lot (though it’s rather noble ending was sadly, not the truth. 😦 ) I miss your book clubs….

  6. deborah permalink
    January 31, 2012 9:16 am

    i checked out the Heretic’s Daughter last week and Annabel has absconded it! I never pay library fines–i’m a volunteer, they erase them for me. Love it.

Leave a Reply

