Skip to content

Hush-a-bye

January 19, 2012

Asleep

Mama, I want to sleeps in yours bed.
Alright.
Mama, I want you to spread my turtle blanket.
There you go. Now sleep.

In general, my kids are good sleepers. They go to bed. They fall asleep in their own beds. They don’t have to be tricked into thinking that I will sleep with them. But both of my boys have gone through periods where they decide at some point late at night that they need to join me. Usually these periods start with an illness, and they are just a touch clingier than normal. Then it becomes a habit. I sleep much better when there is NOT a child in my bed, especially ones who turn their bodies sideways or hog all the pillows. I also know that they get better sleep in their own beds. Lily and Peter sleep hard and dead: I couldn’t be prouder. This habit of Amos’ could be broken in short order, with just a few moments of tears, and I have often thought I should do just that.

But then….

This might be my last night. He might never seek comfort with Mama like this again. None of them will. So it could be the last time anyone wants to sneak into my bed.

So I settle him in, spread his turtle blanket, and sleep that melencholy away.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 6:36 pm

    Aw. Shoot. I’ll be there some day, I know it. This made my eyes prickle a bit.

  2. Libby permalink
    January 20, 2012 6:47 am

    Really, there’s not much nicer than snuggling into a warm bed with your kid. Hold onto it for a bit longer I say!

Leave a Reply

