Skip to content

We’re Crafty

December 29, 2011

And just your type.

I decided to make my kids love each other and they each made stuff for their siblings. This is all Designmom stuff, so don’t get too excited. I will report the projects in order from least to most successful. You might be able to guess.

3–Amos made snow globes (and one for himself–I could hardly ask him to make something so cool just for other people!). This project has a lot of potential, but was the most problematic in execution. We laminated the pictures, he picked out charms for the kids representing things that the kids like, we added too much snow, I’m pretty sure, and perhaps too much glycerin. But the real problem is that these jars don’t seem exactly water-tight. Turns out, you really want it to be water tight. I tried glue of both the gorilla and the hot varieties, and still nothing. Maybe I should have just bought those snow globe kits I saw at Michaels. Boo.

2–P.J. designed these bags for his siblings (and himself), drew the pictures, and then used alcohol to blur the lines. He didn’t quite catch the organic vision, and drew machines for himself and Amos, which don’t really benefit from blurring, but oh well. He did it himself, and he did it thoughtfully.

1–Lily decided the boys would like light saber shirts and did freezer-paper as stencils with bleach to make them. She knows her brothers well because they did, indeed, love them. I like her book, too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2012 9:13 pm

    Those t-shirts turned out so cool. You’ve definitely given me some good ideas for homemade gifts.

  2. January 3, 2012 4:44 pm

    I love the T-shirt idea – very doable for my herd.

Leave a Reply

