Skip to content

No Snow on Snow on Snow

December 20, 2011

I am certain there are Rochestarians out there bemoaning the fact that we have had no snow this year, and the weather has been very mild. Gloomy, but mild. I can’t quite get there. I do regret having contracted with a snow plow if this is what the whole winter will be like, but that’s the gamble you take with snow plows. Other than that, I can’t complain. A bunch of my neighbors caroled up and down the street last night, and they certainly did not in frozen years past. We have been on walks and at playgrounds all December, and that doesn’t happen in the snow. Christmas without snow, though, is very disturbing for many, I’m sure. And I’ll take the blame. I know it is my fault because:

 I put snow tires on my car early in November, on the date I always PLAN to do it, but generally do not actually achieve
 My aforementioned contract with the snow plow
 After YEARS of the “I lost my glove” “Where’s my other glove” “I can’t find any gloves” madness, my kids all have mitten keepers this year and have therefore had two matching gloves with them every day since November
 We successfully procured boots, coats, and snowpants on clearance at the end of last winter, and they still fit at the beginning of this winter!
 The kids all have hats they actually like and will wear

In short, we are prepared. That is why we have not had snow. Sorry!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    December 21, 2011 7:51 am

    No complaints here. Can you arrange this next year too?

  2. Anne permalink
    December 21, 2011 6:06 pm

    I heard that a big storm from the midwest is headed your way.

Leave a Reply

