Skip to content

Presenting

December 12, 2011

We are so fortunate to have many wonderful people in our lives and last year about this time, I noticed this little crazy thing we were doing: we were madly baking, wrapping, and delivering treats to each other. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the treats. But I came home almost every night for a week to find a new batch of goodies on my doorstep. It just seemed a little…mad.

So I decided I wouldn’t make treats this year, at least not for most of our friends. I assume, they will make treats for each other and, I hope, me. But in an effort not to contribute the obesity epidemic, and to have gifts my children can be more involved with, we made up some play dough for our friends and packed it up and delivered it this past weekend. The kids had a lot of fun, and it also means that I don’t have to sweat it next week, while I am STILL working and trying to pull it all together for Christmas day.


As requested, here is the recipe we used.
Play Dough Recipe

Ingredients:
4 cups flour
1 cup salt
8 tablespoons cream of tartar
4 cups water
4 tablespoons oil
food coloring

Cook all ingredients together over medium heat. Cool and knead on a floured surface. Store in an airtight container.

We DID add glitter to the white and yellow batches and added scent to each of them: cinnamon for red, citrus for yellow, vanilla for white, and mint for green (blue for our Jewish friends). I don’t think the scents were very successful, but it was worth a try.

This present was for the moms, really: I hope the play dough will allow their moms to do something else, while the wee ones are contained and entertained for a while.

If you are reading this and thinking, “I thought Emily was my FRIEND!” because you did not get one, rest assured, you ARE my friends. You likely either fell outside of my distribution zone or your children were deemed too old for play dough. You may plead your case if you wish.

Lest you think I have my act together because these gifts are made and done, let me assure you that much is unmade. For example, Christmas cards will likely not happen this year. Gggggrrrrrrr. Oh well. You read my blog–you know what’s going on.

And please, don’t be discouraged from bringing me, um, us treats!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jo Pfaff permalink
    December 13, 2011 7:52 am

    Lol what a good idea. However, I was just telling Amanda I wanted to get the recipe of one of your treats. Since pretty much all of my friends are smaller than me I won’t feel bad contributing to their waist lines. Tee hee I will get your number and call.you soon . I was so surprised when you brought us treats the very first yr we moved into the ward.so I always remembered what a thoughtful and kind gesture that was. Thankyou.

    • December 13, 2011 7:59 am

      Good point about the skinny friends! Maybe I should rethink this. I wonder which recipe you want? We put some of our family’s favorites on a blog so we have them on-line and don’t have to bug my mom every time. Don’t know if it was one of these, but here is the link:
      http://janetskitchen.wordpress.com/category/holiday/

  2. Hannah permalink
    December 13, 2011 3:56 pm

    An excellent idea!

Leave a Reply

