Skip to content

Advent-tagious

December 8, 2011

My mom had a felt advent calendar with a tree and 24 ornaments to snap on–one each day of December, culminating with a star at the top. While I was young, this countdown was thrilling. We all had our favorite ornaments (mine was the candy cane) and hoped (and maybe schemed a little) to pull that one out of the pocket on our night. Each year it became a little less exciting, though, and not because I outgrew it. I still have not outgrown it. It’s just that each new sibling meant that I would be having fewer turns. By the time we were all born, we were lucky to put 3 ornaments on all month.

I should probably be trying to teach my children patience, but instead I have three different advent calendars that the kids take turns on–each doing one a night. On one calendar, they open a little door and pull a magnetized nativity piece out and place it where they choose on the nativity background. Another one has a wooden board painted with a simple background and they find the correct number for a piece of that nativity that they peg in place. The last, and most dynamic activity, is the book advent. Eventually, I may own enough Christmas books to do this, but for now I borrow a significant percentage from the library. When I raided their seasonal section last week for the best Christmas books, the lady at the check-out counter seemed to be giving me a little stink eye at my selfishness. I told her what they were for, and she immediately brightened: “I’ll have to share that idea with my son–he was very upset I gave my advent calendar to his sister!”

Fortunately, I am pretty satisfied with my own excessive advents, so I won’t have to participate in the scuffle for my mom’s calendar.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Abbey permalink
    December 8, 2011 2:59 pm

    Aaaah! Wish I had it together enough to do an advent calendar of any sort. Next year…

  2. Amy Thomason permalink
    December 9, 2011 12:23 pm

    You can never have too many advent calendars in my opinion, they are great. And I like the sound of that magnetic one, any link by chance? I loved that Christmas Tree. Maybe one of these years I’ll try to reproduce one. Maybe.

  3. December 9, 2011 7:03 pm

    We hang up an advent calendar every year, but we usually forget to use it.

Leave a Reply

