Skip to content

The Boy Formerly Known as Peter

November 28, 2011

Over the weekend, Peter had several conversations with me about his names. First, he wanted to verify, again, what his names mean.

My name is Peter Juma.
Yes.
Juma means rock.
No; Juma means Sunday. You were born on a Sunday.
Peter means rock?
Yup.
Odhiambo is evening.
It is.
When is evening?

We’ve had this conversation before. Plenty of times. Then he moved on.

What’s a nickname?

OK, I get the appeal of nicknames. Who doesn’t want a nickname? I do. It indicates that you have intimates. Or a terrible name. By the end of this conversation, though, Peter declared his desire to be known henceforth as: P.J.

Sure. I’m a big fan of self-determination. Even though I chose those names with care, a four-year-old blithely tossing them aside doesn’t bother me. Much. I endeavored to use P.J., but often slipped. In order to reinforce the idea, I shared the request with several other adults in his life. I did my best. But it wasn’t good enough: P.J. reminded me several times that I was failing. On the way to daycare this morning, he even mentioned that I needed to be sure to explain the situation to his teacher.

In truth, I did not expect P.J. to stick. I was fairly confident that P.J. wouldn’t even last for 24 hours. When I told the rest of my family, I was mostly doing it quickly before P.J. reverted back to Peter (aka Sweet Pete). Maybe this is permanent, though.

Meet P.J.:

This evening, Amos told me a rather long and very serious story, which concluded:

So just call me Beatbox Amos because that is the name I really like.

I’ll keep you advised of any other moniker changes.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. joanna permalink
    November 28, 2011 11:31 pm

    Peter or P.J. love love love that picture!!

  2. Deborah permalink
    November 29, 2011 6:58 am

    1-you are too funny
    2-PJ it is
    3-tell beatbox we can shorten it to BA (bad attitude), but you might not want to give him any ideas
    4-awesome picture of PJ; who is your photographer?

  3. Jo Pfaff permalink
    November 29, 2011 8:03 am

    Lol Jaylene whent through this, because no one she knows has her same name and no keychain, mug, or piece of jewlery has her name. Without knowing her dad made it worse when he was looking up the popularity of her name over the past ten yrs. There are a few out there but less than 1% of the populatipn. So of course this was an excelent time to explain her name is just the begining of how unigue and special she is. Almost 5 yrs later she is finally starting to like her name. Good luck with PJ.

  4. Wende permalink
    November 29, 2011 9:35 am

    What a gorgeous name Peter has! PJ is cute and Beatbox Amos is genius! I think that you should shorten it to BA (a la Deborah) and then dress him up for Halloween as BA Baracus from the A-Team! Connor has been insisting on Connor Chef, so maybe it’s the age….

    • November 29, 2011 10:49 am

      Does he have chef skills or ambitions? I would totally encourage that!

  5. Amy Thomason permalink
    November 29, 2011 10:30 am

    A few years ago Luke wanted to be called Jet. I didn’t even make one tenth of the effort you have in supporting that.

    It has resurfaced a couple of times since, but since it doesn’t have any semblance to his name or to even just him, to his chagrin, but not surprisingly, it has not stuck.

    And Kate makes up names every once in a while also, but they are passing.

    Be prepared to hear lots of Prince John voices ala Robin Hood saying “PJ, ah-ha, PJ” from our family.

  6. November 29, 2011 3:26 pm

    My friend’s young cousins gave themselves the names Miss Adelia (or something equally fancy) and Tuffy Dumster.

  7. December 2, 2011 10:05 pm

    I wish someone would call me “Beatbox Amos.”

  8. December 3, 2011 6:36 pm

    You got it, Beatbox Amos!

Trackbacks

  1. You Name It « The Chronicles of O

Leave a Reply

