Skip to content

Bah Halloween

November 1, 2011

We actually decorated the house this year! This is a minor miracle. I do very little that I don’t have to. First, we copied our friends in Maine and made big red eyes for our attic window. I am not sure that anyone actually saw them, but I loved them. We also had our jack-o-lanterns out for a week. I don’t know how anyone has time to actually carve a pumpkin on Halloween day!

We also threw some cobwebs and fake spiders up on the porch. They were a big hit. The spiders dropped when people knocked on the door!

While we go out trick-or-treating, we have to leave the candy out on the porch. I am not a big fan of that; I don’t think it is as fun for the trick-or-treaters and I always fear that some stinker is going to come along and take the whole stash. See:

In fact, I’m kind of a scrooge about trick-or-treaters. I hate big kid trick-or-treaters. If you are wondering to yourself if your kid is too big to trick-or-treat, than he is. My feeling is: if you can have a job (even babysitting or yard-work), you need to buy your own candy. I even pulled the cobwebs down so that anyone significantly taller than elementary aged students would have to put some effort into getting under it and getting to the candy. They did. I know, I’m a horrible person.

Wow! Someone put on their grumpy pants this morning!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April permalink
    November 1, 2011 2:26 pm

    The eyes are awesome. I want to copy that for next year. You’re not a scrooge at all, your Halloween efforts far out-stripped mine. And I am proof-positive that you won’t have time to carve your pumpkins on Halloween.

  2. Amy permalink
    November 1, 2011 7:55 pm

    We had grown ups asking for candy at our door. I could not believe it. If my mom did not send me halloween decals, there would be no Halloween decorations at my house.

    • esodhiambo permalink
      November 1, 2011 11:29 pm

      That happened to me last year!

  3. November 6, 2011 6:26 pm

    I haven’t checked in for a few days and I was so happy to see that we’ve been copied! So flattered!

Leave a Reply

