Skip to content

Costume Drama

October 31, 2011

Inheritor of a curse, I have a deep deep deep prejudice against store-bought costumes. I can’t help it: my mother made me this way. Only unlike her, I cannot sew. Yes, that leaves me in the unenviable position of not being able to buy or sew a costume. Told you it was a curse.

My other costume philosophies:
1. Kids should be something that they actually want to be, not just what is easy.
2. When you live in upstate NY, you just have to have a costume that is winter wear–it’s just dumb to have a ballerina costume with your winter coat over it.
3. While it is most fun to dress up as something that is recognizable to your audience, the most important thing is that the costume wearer is happy.
4. Strong preference for cute over spooky.
5. You can purchase elements of a costume, but getting the whole thing in a bag at the store? No way.
6. Because I am cheap, I like to be able to use major pieces of the costume in real life; so if a kid is going to be a cat, I want to base the costume on a track suit they can really use, or a witch may wear jeans instead of a long black dress.
7. NEVER use an ethnicity for a costume.

I was so happy to see that I am not the only member of my family with such a set of rules.

This year, Lily really wanted to be something scaryish. I have no idea why. Clearly her parents failed her. Anyway, we settled for a witch was far and away the easiest and least satisfying costume for me. She was happy, though. I guess that counts for something. Tonight, she went out with a stuffed monkey, too.

Peter needed to be Luke Skywalker. Let me hasten to add that he has never seen any Star Wars movie, because, of course, they are inappropriate for small children, what with all the shooting and fighting and killing. Look what happened to him as soon as I got him the lamest version of a light saber….

Amos’ was, of course, the most complicated, as he decided to be CP3-O. Initially, he had said R2D2, but when he mentioned C3P-O, I quickly turned him in that direction, since he at least walks. I don’t think this looks a ton like C3P-O, but I do think onlookers can understand the intent, so I guess I’m satisfied with that. Easy to wear needs to be one of my new criterion, because this was not super easy. Lesson learned. Amos was not a big fan of having his picture snapped, so this is the best I got.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Thomason permalink
    November 1, 2011 2:25 pm

    Kate was thrilled to learn that Lily was also a witch this year. Alas, Kate had no broom, her only stipulation was a witch’s hat, which I lamely made from stiff felt since all the one’s sold at stores were adult sized.

    And two Luke Skywalkers! I loved how simple this one was (once I tracked down a karate gi, that is). And Luke finally got a light saber.

    What are the odds they’ll be coordinating next year?

  2. November 5, 2011 12:54 am

    I often have ambitions that require the ability to sew as well, Ryan has to remind me that I do not do that. I think the costumes turned out great!

Trackbacks

  1. Kicking the New K-Nowledge « The Chronicles of O

Leave a Reply

