Skip to content

Friday Night Special

October 28, 2011


Friday nights can be…ify. I like to do something fun because, well, I’m human, and it is nice to mark the end of the week, especially for my young scholars. But frankly, I am not at my height of energy after my work week, so I generally aim for more of a coping strategy like an evening at the library or the children’s museum or some activity that requires minimum effort on my part. I’m really shining here. Anyway, I had planned on heading inside but, wouldn’t you know it, the weather was sunny and mild. Stupid weather: ruins everything.

It’s a good thing we went though, because there were LOTS of leaves and sticks laying around on the ground instead of where they obviously need to be: in the stream. My kids could do that for hours. Ask me how I know.

We also noted some lonely trees that needed some climbing.

There was only a little one-upsmanship.

Even Amos tried his hand at the scaling.

Fortunately, he did not get very far.

This tree ate up all three of my kids.

They were ready to sleep in there. I was ready to let them.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Thomason permalink
    October 28, 2011 10:01 pm

    Beautiful pictures, Emily. Not too hard, I know, with super cute kiddos and gorgeous scenery, but still, I love the photo editing. You should totally frame that last one, it’s fantastic. I love the fall.

  2. Amy permalink
    October 29, 2011 8:47 am

    Wherein this wonderful place of childhood heaven?

  3. Amy permalink
    October 29, 2011 8:48 am

    That should say where is

Leave a Reply

