Skip to content

Fall-out

October 25, 2011

This fall has not been my favorite season. Have you noticed? Yeah, the lack of posting is a dead giveaway that I am tired, sick, depressed, bored, overworked, uninspired, at the edge, or some combination thereof. My joy at the recommencement of receiving paychecks has not yet hit equilibrium with the hectic reality of “back to school.” All of my kids seem to hit grumpy every afternoon by about 4 o’clock, which is, even in my world, too early to put them to bed. My car, garage, and basement still bear some summer debris, reminding me that we are no longer footloose and fancy free; with that fun behind us, we still have to pay the piper and store away our fun stuff. Grumble grumble moan moan. I guess I’m done now.

These made me smile at the pumpkin patch.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    October 25, 2011 3:51 pm

    My aunt says in Germany they call that 4-6pm period “wolf’s hour.” I think that’s about right. Interesting how across continents and cultures, mothers are dreading that time and figuring out just how early of a bedtime they can get away with.

    Fun pictures…see, there’s still fun happening! 🙂 So says the non-working mom with only two kids…ignore her. 🙂

    • esodhiambo permalink
      October 26, 2011 8:55 am

      Ah, yes–th universal witching hour. If it affects all children, I say we just admit that we all need to throw in the towel and siesta.

  2. April permalink
    October 25, 2011 4:06 pm

    Those pictures are awesome. From the link on Facebook I thought they really were chickens!
    I don’t have any inspiring words, but I am in full support of a 4pm bedtime.

    • esodhiambo permalink
      October 26, 2011 8:56 am

      If only those didn’t lead to 4 am wake up times!

  3. Hannah permalink
    October 25, 2011 11:23 pm

    The “chickens” crack me up and I am so glad to hear I’m not the only one with the 4 o’clock blues. Hang in there. I think you are doing a great job (granted this is based solely on your own report here) and admire your parenting. You don’t know how many times I’ve appreciated your advice from two and a half years ago regarding sleep training. I love, love, love that my boys go to be when I put them down!

  4. esodhiambo permalink
    October 26, 2011 8:59 am

    I have no idea what advice I gave you, but I am so glad to hear about your easy bedtimes; there is nothing that improves your quality of life more than well-rested children, IMO.

Leave a Reply

