Skip to content

Growing Pains

August 27, 2011

What are the odds that TWO YEARS IN A ROW, I would just happen to go to the cutest place on earth (on August 26th!) and my camera card would poop out? I don’t know. Even if you told me the odds, quite honestly, it wouldn’t mean anything to me because I don’t understand them. Sorry to fall to a standard girl stereotype, but I don’t care for sports data or gambling and therefore have no little need for odds.

If I told you I had children who were 2, 4, and 6 years old, you would probably think of them as little kids. I do. They are all dependent on me in some very fundamental ways. I am the boss. There are toys everywhere, and we spill something at just about every meal. Tears are a regular part of our lives. Although everyone speaks in complete sentences, they still make enough grammatical errors to let you know that they are small. They are, after all, little. Consequently, I think of myself as a mother of little kids. This means we don’t stay out too late, the movies we attend together are few and animated. We favor short activities over long ones and our lives still revolve around naps. I still have to remind everyone to brush their teeth. But since they are all, little, they at least enjoy similar pastimes. Everyone loves the playground and getting ice cream and going to the children’s museum. There is no whining (most of the time) about wanting to instead stay home or be by themselves or having to do little kid things. They are, after all, all little.

So yesterday we went to the Olcott Beach Carousel Park which is perfect for families with little kids. It is a little park with only kiddy rides. I even thought to myself on the way out “wouldn’t it be a major bummer to be a little kid, but be just too big for the rides?” Guess who is exactly one inch shorter than the friendly clown hand at every ride showing the tallest someone can be to ride? Yeah, my firstborn (I took a picture to show you, but it doesn’t want to come off my camera). I know Lily is tall, believe me, people tell me every day, but she is a little kid, right? She digs play-doh and builds with blocks and watches PBS Kids, for heavens sake. I still cut her pancakes for her! OK, that last one, we could probably move past. Lily even declined riding the car ride a second time because her legs were uncomfortable, so maybe she won’t really mind not riding next year. Because she’ll definitely be too tall. But what happens when we want to go? Will she come and just be bored? Will she, gulp, stay home? Is this the end of our “we all like to do the same stuff” era? If so, that’s a major bummer.

Beyond that, as much work as being the mother of little children can be, I’ve pretty much got it figured out. I can tell when kids need to go to the bathroom before they can. I am a master of distraction. Naps and other sleep issues are settled–there are no fights there. But big kids [shudder] have their own ideas about things, make their own plans, and even read stuff–it makes life much more complicated. As a dictator in my household, I understand more than ever why the Catholic Church would have encouraged illiteracy: people are much easier to control when they don’t really know what is going on. Parenthood is about control, right? Right? Big kids certainly don’t think so.

I am really going to have to change the way I operate. I went to BJs today and I parked, as I always have, in the super spots immediately in front of the doors. Today I realized that they are marked “for parents of infants.” Yeah, no one in my car qualifies anymore. I didn’t even have to buy diapers there. In fact, I have diapers in my house that we won’t even use. It is so weird! Instead we bought stuff for Lily to make her own lunches. I need to find a new parking spot.

And some new family activities.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    August 27, 2011 7:08 pm

    Wish I’d known you were going. We went today and it is probably my favorite place. Who needs Disney World.

    • esodhiambo permalink
      August 27, 2011 9:56 pm

      You braved a Saturday! I fear crowds. Seriously–this place is magic.

  2. Jo Pfaff permalink
    August 27, 2011 9:25 pm

    It’s ok now the lesson of we don’t always get to do what we want will take over and patients will surely work well with Lily. Now also presents its self with girl time or mom and Lily or ohhh it’s Lily’s turn to chose. It will be ok and you will adapt and concor this too as the super mom you are.

    • esodhiambo permalink
      August 27, 2011 9:55 pm

      Thanks Jo–it’s good to have moms like you to follow behind.

  3. joanna permalink
    August 28, 2011 2:12 pm

    I still have to remind some of my kids (and not the younger ones) to brush their teeth also.

  4. Scott permalink
    September 2, 2011 10:26 pm

    Those diapers you say you won’t ever use…are they size 6? Because if they are, I know someone (sigh…) who could still make use of them. (The “Amos is smaller than you and HE wears underpants” peer-pressure approach is not working at all…)

    • esodhiambo permalink
      September 3, 2011 9:36 am

      Sure things–I’ll bring them over.

Leave a Reply

