Skip to content

Booty

August 19, 2011

I don’t generally blog about my shopping loot, but I thought this was worthy. After traveling southwest through rural New York, and being disappointed by the weather, we needed some good cheer and sought it, naturally, at the Mennonite Grocery Store. I mean, they have snickerdoodles. And Anabaptists. Those are bound to lift our spirits, right? They sure did. Better yet, I found something. Something many people have told me do not exist, and something I have long argued MUST exist. And now I have proof:

Yup, those are cinnamon bears. Bought outside of Utah, right here, in fact, in New York. If you are also one of those people who thinks they can only buy these treats in Utah, you are wrong. Also, you can order them on Amazon. I sincerely hope we can put that nonsense to rest.

Better yet, I snatched some Amish romance novels. They go great with cinnamon bears.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2011 10:03 pm

    I was not aware there was doubt of the existence of cinnamon bears…?? How odd…And to further make you happy, you can order them in bulk from right there at Lantz’s. You can order anything they sell from them in bulk. Any. Thing. It’s a wonderful place…

    • esodhiambo permalink
      August 19, 2011 10:52 pm

      My siblings are quite convinced they only exist in the Beehive State.

  2. Libby Casas permalink
    August 19, 2011 11:44 pm

    Amish romance novels….REALLY???

    • esodhiambo permalink
      August 20, 2011 10:22 am

      Yes! The characters are Amish and they are labelled as “fiction–romance” on the cover. Of course, “romance” is a fairly subjective term.

  3. August 20, 2011 1:41 am

    Amish romances! I’m there.

    • esodhiambo permalink
      August 20, 2011 10:30 am

      Available at your local Mennonite establishment. Or Amazon.

  4. marta permalink
    August 20, 2011 9:22 am

    i’ve heard they’re even better dipped in chocolate. both the bears and the books.

  5. Deborah permalink
    August 20, 2011 1:55 pm

    So what did you think of the Amish romances? I’m afraid they are bit tame. No heaving bosoms or throbbing stallions?

    • esodhiambo permalink
      August 20, 2011 7:40 pm

      Don’t know–just got them yesterday. I’ll pass them on.

  6. August 20, 2011 6:41 pm

    Deborah, I’ve read your romance novels and the Amish romance novels. Way too tame for you. Stick with the bodice-rippers.

  7. joanna permalink
    August 21, 2011 5:22 pm

    are they REAL cinnamon bears or the cheep juju cinnamon bears? We always look for them around valentines day but have never had any luck. The only thing better than cinnamon bears is chocolate covered cinnamon bears! YUM!!

    • esodhiambo permalink
      August 21, 2011 7:55 pm

      I don’t know if they are real enough for you–I’ll bring some over for you to assess.

      • joanna permalink
        August 23, 2011 10:35 pm

        i am waiting…..

Leave a Reply

