Skip to content

13/14: Oklahoma–it’s OK

August 5, 2011

I’m sure it is a perfectly fine place, but I am downgrading it to OK due to excessive tolls on their toll roads that did not, get this, accept my EZ Pass! The nerve! I had to pay for tolls in cash for the first time since I was in high school. I still haven’t recovered.

Since we were still on our “no stops, no fun” program, I expected to whip right through Missouri. Right through. But (you knew there was a but), then I saw a billboard. Now let me get this straight: my weakness is the brown road signs. I want to see just about anything warranting it’s own brown sign. I had already passed many on this trip, and many on this day alone. It was hard to keep driving, but I had to keep reminding myself that seeing the George Washington Carver National Monument was not worth the life of my child, which any prolonging of the trip would have cost, for sure. Or maybe it would be–I’m kind of regretting not seeing it, because what are the chances of me returning to Missouri? Not great.

Anyway, of particular interest to me, are the religious sites. National Monument of the Infant Jesus of Prague (in Oklahoma)? Sign me up. Top of Texas Catholic Superstore? VERY interested. National Shrine Grotto of Our Lady of Lordes? Been there many times. I just like that stuff. You really don’t want to travel Europe with me. Or Asia. But in the States, the religious sites are a manageable spread across the land. Missouri has a very special contribution: The Precious Moments Chapel. I had heard of it, but couldn’t have told you where it was. When I saw the billboard, I knew it was advertising especially for us.

Friends: it was no where near as strange as I expected it to be, but it was, indeed, very odd. Actually, it’s existence wasn’t half as odd as the fact that very many people seriously and earnestly come here. I am at a loss.

Not more, though, than when Amos very seriously explained to me why he would NOT be eating any hush-puppies (trying to expand my family’s fast-food horizons): I don’t even eat puppies, Mama. I only pet them.

Fair enough.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jeannette permalink
    August 7, 2011 1:06 am

    In the first picture is Lily looking up at the Precious Moments interpretation of the Sistine Chapel. Now how crazy/creepy would THAT be?

  2. Erin permalink
    August 8, 2011 12:03 pm

    Wow, I can’t blame you for stopping. I would really have wanted to as well. I never knew such a place existed but now that I think about it, I can’t say I’m too surprised.

  3. annettehynes permalink
    August 10, 2011 10:29 am

    Amos, do you eat hot dogs?

  4. esodhiambo permalink
    August 10, 2011 12:09 pm

    Exactly–he does. I decided not to mess too much with a 2-year-olds’ head at 11 at night, but he is clearly a culinary paradox.

  5. Ganie permalink
    August 11, 2011 12:17 pm

    I have driven past this *many* times on my way to and from Albuquerque and have always been too eager to get out of Missouri to stop. Now, thanks to your photos, I don’t have to! Just know that it’s well-nigh impossible to ever get a hotel room within 25 miles or so of this site.

    And I second the Oklahoma toll complaint–highly annoying! Why can’t they join the 21st Century? Oh, wait–it’s *Oklahoma*…

    You mean you didn’t stop at the World’s Largest McDonald’s on the Will Rogers Turnpike east of Tulsa?

Leave a Reply

