Skip to content

12/14: Route 66 (Alternatively, the less poetic Interstate 40)

August 4, 2011

Since all my kids were in agreement that they just wanted to BE home, we agreed that today, there would be NO stops, and we would have NO fun. We succeed at one of those, can you guess which? I bet you can.

Since there would be NO stops, I broke out some friends: animal and monster tatoos.

Super fun, right? It’s like puppets, but they won’t get lost. It’s like having 6 new friends join us for the ride! It’s, well, let’s just say that it took longer to apply them, than it took for them to get over the novelty of having monster mouths on their fingers. What’s wrong with these kids?

So, we drove out of Arizona.

Then New Mexico.

And Texas.

Texas is where I threatened to leave a certain four-year-old a number of times. I tried to convince Peter that Texas needed more kids. He temporarily straightened up because, according to him, “Texas stinks.”

So, as we were driving along, having NO stops and definitely NO fun when we passed Cadillac Ranch. Come on! I couldn’t NOT stop. Sure, I had passed by the second largest canyon in the US and innumerable dinosaur places, but I couldn’t pass right by Cadillac Ranch just for the sake of covering distance and getting home!

We came empty-handed, but someone gave Peter a permanent marker, and he put it to good use. Today I learned that two of my children believe that if they write their name on something, it belongs to them. Who raised these kids? A teacher?


Someone else gave us their leftover spray paint. My children felt that their visit was complete.


Um, yeah. This is the first time I have seen Amos’ initials like that. Whoops. Maybe I should have gone with…something that doesn’t start with an A. I’ll let you know when he comes home elated that his initials ARE the symbol for anarchy.

By the way, Amos honestly told me that he was going to drive “his” car home. When I pointed out that it was buried, the only problem he saw was that we had not brought a shovel.

Anyway, we made it out of Texas, which was my goal. Sorry, Deborah. Although we probably took the shortest possible route through that giant state (but not as big as Africa, Peter would add), we did manage to see the world’s biggest cross, which seems very Texas.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    August 5, 2011 8:24 am

    Seriously, will you adopt me? Where do you come up with these great ideas. Those tatoos are awesome. They would entertain me for hours.

  2. Erin permalink
    August 5, 2011 9:56 am

    Only a couple of days left to go – good luck! Did you spot a Mississippi license plate yet? I did, does that count?

  3. Deborah permalink
    August 8, 2011 7:22 am

    Yea, unfortunately, you missed the best parts of Texas. You’ll have to take another trip solely dedicated to it.

Leave a Reply

