Skip to content

4/14: Technology–So Smart and So Stupid

July 27, 2011

Don’t tell my kids I said that–it’s a bad word.

But what else can you say about a computer chip in my camera that gives me the big ERROR WARNING: BLINK DETECTION when I take a picture of this totally insentient and inanimate object?

Blink detection? I’ll give you blink detection!

Take that, camera!

I sound a little feisty, now, don’t I? Can you also guess how I was feisty in insisting my dirty stinky children bathe tonight? And brush teeth? And settle down for crying out loud what do you want from me just sleep! Yeah, you’re worried, now. Me too. But if I can just get to Malad “City,” there should be some adults there to talk to, and I plan to ignore my children entirely. In fact, I am quite serious about that, so I hope the adults who I plan to talk to and NOT find a drink of water for or tell them what time it is or when we are going to BE there or shout to step away from the street at will pay my children at least a little attention. Just so they don’t accidentally get left behind.

But don’t let me dream too much about tomorrow; TODAY we fulfilled my long-time goal to go SEE Mt. Rushmore and we did pretty OK at that. One Park Ranger made a joke to my kids about not getting eaten by a bear, and it made me wonder when our national parks became haunted houses, but maybe the guy just likes to shorten the visits of families with young children when they become incapacitated with fear of the bears. Mission accomplished, Park Ranger.

We also went over to the Crazy Horse Monument, which was also very impressive, as was the attached museum and studio and plans for that project. Nothing, however, could improve upon the souvenirs my children collected:

Yes, those are rocks from the blasting, and yes, they were free, and yes, it makes me wonder why I ever buy them ANYTHING because nothing could be better than a rock.

Then we high-tailed it out of South Dakota, and my GPS tried to kill me. I have mentioned before that I am a “shorter distance” kind of a girl, rather than a “faster time” kind of a girl, and I realize we are few and far between. Maybe computers hate that kind of irrational preference, because MY GPS was clearly trying to lure me out to the middle of NO WHERE Wyoming (don’t get me sidetracked here, you can tell that joke for me), where my car could break down on the bumpy road track, and my children and I would fight over our last meal of Haribo Super Cola Bottles and die while my family sent search and rescue teams to search along actual paved roads all over the west. I mean, my GPS called this a highway!

As if! I’ve got my eye on you, GPS.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. amy parnell permalink
    July 28, 2011 9:57 am

    Amazing! You are one of the bravest women I know, a road trip that far, that long alone with 3 little kids! Technology sometimes has a sense of humor, I wonder if the program these things to be “funny”. LOL

  2. Deborah permalink
    July 29, 2011 7:26 am

    Seriously! I’m waiting for pics of the new car.

    • esodhiambo permalink
      July 29, 2011 9:41 am

      Unfortunately, my old car has behaved very well.

  3. July 31, 2011 12:41 am

    You are a brave, loving mother. And this is the closest I’ve seen you to coming unhinged. Love it! Laughed all the way through this post. Continue along safely!

    • esodhiambo permalink
      August 2, 2011 12:45 am

      Totally losing it.

  4. Scott Fybush permalink
    July 31, 2011 2:26 pm

    I don’t dare show this one to Ari, because she’s been after us to go to Mount Rushmore for a long time now. Glad you’re all doing well on the road – and we’re taking your 200,000 mile Odyssey as inspiration for a good long future for the sister Odyssey next door, which is a baby at just 90,000 miles. Oh – and we just realized that if you’re coming back east through Indiana, that means you’ll be in Indiana the same time we’re in Indiana…which means there’s a free night’s lodging and home-cooked meal for you intrepid travelers if you want it. Sorry you missed the big deck party last night. Somehow we ended up with 90 people in our back yard over the course of the day. It was a hoot. Safe travels!!!

    • esodhiambo permalink
      August 2, 2011 12:42 am

      Impressive turn out!

Leave a Reply

