Skip to content

3/14: Little Minivan on the Prairie

July 26, 2011

You know that I, nay, cameras cannot capture epic landscapes like the Badlands, right? Good, so I’ll just post these snaps I took and no one will expect them as a substitute for actually coming to South Dakota and seeing it with your own eyes.

Yes, my children were wearing superhero capes. After the first “scenic outlet” I wondered if that made some people nervous. I guess you could easily picture a 2 or 4 year old boy who had been couped up in a car for 8 hours taking a running leap to his death when his cape did not assist him in flight. I couldn’t: I know these boys. And I know that just 20 minutes previously they had been running scared from grasshoppers at the gas station. Yes, grasshoppers frighten my children. I am not proud of that. I guess they don’t have much experience with grasshoppers, but still, it was totally ridiculous. So, I was confident that they would also be scared of these heights, but we started leaving the capes in the car, anyway. Super heroes do need to be incognito, after all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Thomason permalink
    July 27, 2011 10:47 am

    I wouldn’t have thought twice about two little boys running around in superhero capes, especially such great ones. And those two last pictures are gorgeous. We have not ventured north before on any of our cross-country trips before, but I’m tempted to now.

  2. Deborah permalink
    July 29, 2011 7:22 am

    Never been there. Always wanted to see the Badlands. Thanks for your pics. I can be there vicariously.

Leave a Reply

