Skip to content

1/14: Oh Pioneers

July 24, 2011

I think this about says it all:

Over 600 miles today
My trusty old van hit 200,000
I rolled into Chicago on empty–two full tanks today
1/3rd of a children’s novel heard
5 states entered
Of course, a dusty dashboard, too.

I think we did pretty well, though. Only one person cried (not me). No major spills or incidents. We managed to eat, gas, and use the restroom all in one coordinated stop. We have more than half the states covered in our license plate game; I almost wonder why we would even keep driving when we have them all.

[Side note: the prevalence of license plate frames makes this game much much harder. States need to design their plates with that in mind, or it almost won’t be worth having them.]

And, EZPass saves the day. Seriously, I pity those who drive without them more than I pity myself. Climb out of the stone ages of scouting for change, people, and breeze through like the other half lives!

Once in Chicago, I drove the kids to a children’s museum I pretty much picked at random from the selection the state offers. Compared to Strong, it was basically a big room with toys in it, but after 9 hours in the car, that was about right for us.

We swam in the hotel pool, which is something I have not done since I was a kid, and here is the problem: other people. It was packed! OK, not packed, but populated. Oh well. We swam, though, within minutes of Amos having received his robot backpack, and he would not leave it in the room. He insisted on bringing it to the pool, and it was only after great negotiation that I persuaded him to swim without it on. He says he is ready for school now. Great.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 10:36 pm

    Supermom! Seriously, you have got it together! Amos looks so so cute with his backpack.

  2. amy parnell permalink
    July 25, 2011 1:00 pm

    Road trip with 3 kids alone….I bow to your courage and stamina! Have a wonderful time.

Leave a Reply

