Skip to content

Pre-Trip Jitters

July 23, 2011

The time has come, my little friends, to…embark on a cross country road trip. 1 adult (me) vs. 3 children. Who will win? I think the odds for the kids are pretty good. True to form, I am up too late the night before we leave. Untrue to form, my laundry is actually 100% DONE, I think I have everything I intended to bring in the car, and I even managed to complete my annual clothing purge! Let’s not dwell on the tasks left unfinished, OK?

What do you think? Wishful thinking? I actually do not anticipate reading all of this (I do have to drive, after all), but I couldn’t quite decide which to do next. Just call us the book-mobile.

The backseat is almost as packed.

I trust that should get the kids at least to Indiana. Hopefully everyone will feel appeased. Always my goal, really.


My packing strategy was this: everyone has a crate of clothes and a small backpack to pack as an overnight bag each day. I don’t think we’ll be staying anywhere more than one night, so I am trying to avoid lugging stuff in that we don’t need. I’ll let you know how it goes. I know you are dying to know!

Best go do the dishes!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Jo Pfaff permalink
    July 24, 2011 12:41 am

    Brave brave woman, that’s all the words I have for such an adventure. what is your final destination? Have fun, good luck, and drive safe.

  2. Deborah permalink
    July 24, 2011 10:45 am

    I like the whole crate idea. Good luck.

  3. Amy permalink
    July 24, 2011 11:46 am

    Did you pack your super woman cape too? Have a great time. I can’t wait to hear about your adventures.

    • esodhiambo permalink
      July 24, 2011 9:07 pm

      The kids have capes!

  4. darrenpulley permalink
    July 24, 2011 12:22 pm

    I think the trip sounds fun. We will see how long that crate thing lasts!

    • esodhiambo permalink
      July 24, 2011 9:08 pm

      Oh ye of little faith!

  5. Wende permalink
    July 24, 2011 10:55 pm

    safe journey! I predict that you will win, everyone will have a good time and you will finish at least one book.

  6. Amy Thomason permalink
    July 25, 2011 12:37 pm

    We just drove up to Idaho for a three day stay, so why was my car WAY more stuffed with stuff than yours? Seriously every cranny was filled with a pillow, blanket, or bag of snacks. It was ridiculous. I am a serial over-packer.

  7. joanna permalink
    July 25, 2011 12:55 pm

    you are the coolest mom ever! Look how fun your car looks. I look forward to hearing about your travels.

Leave a Reply

