Skip to content

R.I.P. Stroller

July 15, 2011

It wasn’t cute or small, but it could really pack stuff in. I thought it was totally adequate until I visited NYC with Lily for the first time and realized it was truly a country bumpkin compared to the attractive and compact buggies the city slickers used. Still it steered through three of my own babyhoods and a few other peoples, too. I will be forever grateful to have mothered in the age of baby-seat convertible strollers. To transfer a sleeping baby from stroller to backseat without shaking and waking them is a sweet sweet experience.

At the end of last summer, I was fed up with the contraption. I retired it. But I couldn’t quite part with it. It’s been sitting in the corner of my garage for almost a year. Just in case. Just in case I gave up on ambulatory children. Just in case I needed to Christmas shop at the mall. Just in case…. Well, I’ve got a lot of baby things on hand that I have hidden away but cannot quite discard.

Last weekend we were headed to a festival, and I decided my day would be much more pleasant if no one whined or complained or cried that they were tired. A-ha–the stroller. Just wrestling it from the corner reminded me how frustrating this vehicle had become by the end of its’ term of service. So I left it. And we all walked. We ran into friends there whose youngest child is double Amos’ age, but who was still wheeling a stroller around. Of course I was a tiny bit jealous, but also felt somewhat superior.

Oh. I like that.

So out the stroller goes. Out. Out. Gone. Crunched. Dirty, tired, and old. Also, an emblem of a certain stage, gone. A stage I enjoyed. A stage I navigated successfully. A stage I planned to remain planted in for years to come. Over.

I’ll let you know when I trash the 3 baby seats, exersaucer, baby swing, or bumbo. This should be a fun series.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jo Pfaff permalink
    July 16, 2011 12:45 pm

    Ahhhhh Emily I love the way you write and express yourself. I think you should write a book. Childrens book or novel either would be so fun to read. I always love writers who can express themselves and I can see myself in their writing. lol they say so eloquently what I feel and wish I could express. Here’s to the hands of change and the metamorphosis they force upon us.

  2. July 19, 2011 3:08 pm

    I would think the Bumbo would have bit the dust before the stroller. I just packed up a bunch of baby clothes to give away and your second to last paragraph is about the way I felt.

Leave a Reply

