Skip to content

Gold at the End of the Trail

April 28, 2011

Have you ever heard of the Daffodil Meadow? Me neither. Until a friend of mine asked me about it and added: it seems like the kind of thing you would do with your kids. Challenge accepted. I did a little research and saw that NOW IS THE TIME–it’s daffodils, after all. So, no rain was forecast for this afternoon so when the kids got home, I piled them in the car and promised them an adventure.

Those are usually fun. Reasonably enough, we went from Park Road because it has the sign and parking. I like that.

We had a blast watching the swollen creek

Splashing in puddles, tramping through mud, running away from Mama, shouting, etc.

And it was muddy. Very muddy. And puddlely. At first they were jump acrossable. Then some of them needed somewhat sketchy bridge-like structures.

Basically having a grand old time.

Then we got to bigger stretches of water. Ones that you can’t jump across and where no kindly trail-blazers had laid down bridges. Imagine, if you will, the pioneers crossing rivers: that was us, sans handcarts. And oxen. Sorry–no pictures: I was too busy being cross and carrying children, and doing my best not to be swept away with the ducks.

Lest you think this was some sort of Mommy Dearest situation, forcing my kids down the trail, I told them that we could not continue unless everyone wanted to. “Is everyone willing to continue, even if it means getting water in your boots and wet pants?”

“Yes, Mama.”

So on we went. And on. Although maybe it just seemed to go on and on because it was more challenging than expected. In fact, I was beginning to wonder if we had gotten on the wrong trail, or worse, that the Daffodil Meadow was, in fact, under water, and that we had just walked through it without realizing it.

Finally, we spot it:

(Angels singing)

Amos looks stoked, doesn’t he?

Peter had him beat

In fact, I carried him into the meadow screaming: “I don’t want to go there anymore!” And it didn’t stop. Until we left.

Oh well, the rest of us had fun taking pictures of each other:
Lily took this

Amos took this

I took this

(I blame imperfect composition on Peter and the crying).

While there, this happy group of one mom and 8 same-age kids came in with a picnic basket and looking like they had not had the same kind of harrowing experience getting there. I inquired where they came from. “Oh. Thornell Road is about a two-minute walk that way.”

Of course it is. And it was dryish. Lucky for us, we have a fairy grandmother who lives nearby, and she saved us from ourselves by picking us up on Thornell and depositing us back at our car, with 99 cent rootbeer floats in hand.

And, not to overwhelm you, but THEN we had a rocking good time at the fish hatchery!

So, to re-cap (for Meredith):
Daffodils=glorious
Try going when you don’t expect floods.
The trail from Park Road is winding but there is parking.
The trail from Thornell Road is short and easy, but no parking.
Bring your wellies!

P.S. A special shout out to some young stud who found my cell phone I did not realize had fallen out of my pocket (as I was busy fleeing with bawling Peter) there and called “home” and then just brought it to me at my house, because the kids were already in bed. Thanks!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2011 12:11 am

    Emily all I have to ask after all that is, will you be my adopted mom? I know we are close in age but you are just a way cool mom.

  2. Anne permalink
    April 29, 2011 8:27 am

    I’m jealous that you still have daffodils in Rochester. Ours are all gone and we have gone on to pollen and allergy season.

    • April 29, 2011 9:10 am

      Are you also jealous that there is a little snowflake on our forecast for next week? Spring has not yet sprung for us and it has been a loooooooooong time coming.

  3. May 3, 2011 9:49 am

    I think you are officially a better mom than me because I would have bailed at the sight of all that water. No thank you.

  4. Kate permalink
    May 4, 2011 11:02 pm

    I definitely need to be better at letting my kids get dirty…I have two boys. Duh, Kate. Loved seeing your adventure!

  5. Meredith permalink
    June 5, 2011 7:37 pm

    Ah! I just saw this! Just wait until the next thing I suggest seems like “something you’d do with your kids” . . .

Trackbacks

  1. Generating « The Chronicles of O
  2. Third Time’s a Charm | The Chronicles of O

Leave a Reply

