Skip to content

Phew! Easter

April 24, 2011

For many years, I’ve been meaning to give up something for Lent. It really only got as far as intentions. This year, I toyed with the idea of giving up sugar. Yeah, that didn’t happen. Fortunately, I gave up that idea BEFORE Lent actually began. Instead, I settled on giving up coveting. Did you feel it? Could you tell that I did not envy you your spring weather or vacation or new shoes or old stained glass? Well, maybe I wasn’t doing it right, but I tried. Fortunately for me, though, Lent is over and I am officially back to my covetous ways! So look out with your musical talent and new car and cute outfits and splendid homes: I’m on you.

Now try not to covet this, but check out the sweet peep wreath Lily made:

I guess it’s time to see if squirrels like peeps.

Also try not to be jealous of the Easter goodies my kids scored:

They are equal parts: stuff I bought last year and forgot or couldn’t find at Christmas, Grandma’s contributions, and, frankly, cheap stuff that caught my eye here and there.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephani Teran permalink
    April 24, 2011 10:28 pm

    Haha! Emily, If you are jealous of others, I never could tell because most girls get catty when jealous and you are not at all! And just for the record, I am jealous of your Easter loot…hope your happy now! 😉

  2. April 24, 2011 10:58 pm

    I look at a lot of craft blogs and that Peeps wreath is one of the cutest I’ve seen. You’ve got a talented little girl there!

  3. Wende Domm permalink
    April 25, 2011 9:36 am

    THAT WREATH ROCKS! (did you hear me shouting from all the way over on Fair Oaks?)

  4. Annette permalink
    April 25, 2011 11:37 am

    Lily did WAY better than I did on Peep crafting. I posted my Peep Last Supper monstrosity on FB in case you want to be grossed out.

  5. amy permalink
    April 25, 2011 2:39 pm

    Love the wreath. I am curious to see if the squirrels like it. It would not survive in my neighborhood. Loved the robots too. Very cool find.

  6. Anne permalink
    April 27, 2011 9:36 am

    Who “brought” the kids’ Easter baskets? Surely not the Easter bunny. 🙂

    • April 27, 2011 10:14 am

      I made no mention of an Easter Bunny (what a bizarre tradition!) and the kids did not ask where the loot came from. Why would they?

Leave a Reply

