Skip to content

Done and Out

April 21, 2011

Splash Week is mercifully over. Don’t get me wrong, it was very kind of the YMCA to host losers like us who aren’t members for a week’s worth of swim lessons, and I do appreciate that, although I fear my kids will believe that we are again members and periodically plead to return. BUT, there are so many accompanying annoyances for a lazy mom like me, I’m tired.

• “Family” changing rooms are incredibly aggravating. Yet its’ very existence makes me think that my presence with 2 young XYs in the women’s changing room would be unwelcome. Somehow, these changing rooms attract all sorts of “family” members who are neither changing nor helping their young ones change. Get out!
• Changing kids in and out of wet clothes: hate it.
• Seriously? I get, dad, that you have NO reason to actually be standing there blocking three lockers while your wife changes the kids, but don’t you think you could refrain from pulling out your smart device that is a CAMERA in the locker room? Seriously?
• I don’t want to sound all bitter divorcee here, but why are there SO MANY people here? Does it really take 2 parents to bring the kids to swim? Especially when most of you are fully clothed, sitting around and watching and filming those of us who would really rather not be out in a bathing costume.
• And grandparents? Really—swim lessons is not a spectator sport. Meet them for dinner.
• Being in the evening session means I am officially in the dad mommy-and-me class. Ugh.
• Tired kids and late classes mean someone in our party has a breakdown just about every day.
• My apologies to all for my inadequate shaving. Hair removal is just not my priority. Sorry!

While I would be happy to have many more children, I am guessing I won’t so I will hereby celebrate this fact: no more mommy-and-me classes for me! I’m done. Retired. I will forever more watch swim lessons in my own clothes from the side, and more likely just read my book until the kids are dripping wet on my toes demanding their towels. Wahoo!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. amy permalink
    April 22, 2011 9:22 am

    This just confirmed for me that I made the right decision to not do the swim classes this year at the Y. I don’t think I could have handled it this week.

    • April 22, 2011 10:34 am

      Yeah–can’t quit bring myself to do the free swim today…hope my kids don’t remember that it exists. Life was so much easier before Lily could read!

  2. joanna permalink
    April 22, 2011 10:07 am

    You are a brave soul to do free lessons at the Y. Doesn’t that make you so excited for lessons this summer in a more relaxed and private location. Think about all the great company you will have by the pool, under the umbrella, while your kids are in the pool. My favorite part of summer for sure!

Leave a Reply

