Skip to content

Hakuna Matata

April 11, 2011

Whoops! I found myself summarizing the plot for my kids on the way there, and had shown a few You Tube clips to them the night before. Unfortunately, I got some elements wrong–I have probably only seen the movie once, and that was when it came out 15 years ago. Honestly, I had never considered my Disney hesitations would have any impact on my kids that were not positive, but I guess this production might have been more meaningful for them had they some background knowledge. All I hope now is that “hakuna matata” does not become a part of their vocabulary: it is a sure tell that you are not a native Swahili speaker, and we wouldn’t want to give anyone that impression.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne permalink
    April 11, 2011 8:54 pm

    How did they enjoy the show? Did they sit all the way through it?

    • April 11, 2011 9:11 pm

      Lily did. Peter can’t sit through a night of sleep. Yes–they loved it.

Leave a Reply

