Skip to content

We we we so Excited

March 24, 2011

Apparently, this is the worst song ever.

Hard to disagree, really. Someone shared it on FaceBook last week (so sweet!) so I saw it when it was first released. I had no idea. In fact, I didn’t make it past her initial “which one should I take?” car seat dilemma. Because I didn’t care. And I couldn’t process her pronunciation of “Friday.” Does it have some Es of which I was not aware?

After reading the above-linked article, though, I had to revisit the work. It still breaks my ears, but every time I watch it gives Rebbecca Black a little more college money, and I like to help. I don’t think anyone should make fun of this girl: she’s a kid, and who wouldn’t make a music video if their parent arranges it? I do think there is ample ridicule to dole out to the adults involved, though.

1. Songwriter: Can I even call you that? I sincerely believed this girl wrote this song, but it turns out an actual adult and professional songwriter earned $2,000 for it. What? “We we we so excited”?!? You actually broke it down with a days of the week bit–“Sunday comes afterwords”?!? Oh really? You’re tugging at my heartstrings here. “Fun fun fun, think about fun–you know what it is”?!? I do, but isn’t it your job to make my moment, um, fun? Lastly, although believe me, each and every line of this “song” is wrong wrong wrong and an affront to all English speakers and people who hear, you have failed to engage the most elementary of literary devices: rhyme. There is not one rhyme here that is not actually just repetition of the same word; rhyming Friday to Friday and Weekend to Weekend just doesn’t count. PLEASE step away. Although I do not believe it is possible to ban you from “writing,” I beg of you, for the good of the earth, PLEASE DON”T EVER ATTEMPT TO WRITE AGAIN. Not even a receipt.

2. Rapper: Seriously, how hard-up do you have to be to participate in this? Why are you driving? And why are you so happy to be on camera? Isn’t this a torpedo to any future rapping career? Let me tell you: it is. You will NEVER live this down. And why are you hanging out with 13-year-olds, anyway?

3. Parents: No matter how unfamiliar you might be with the biz, did you really think this song was good? I don’t think I have ever seen anyone be more wrong.

I do, however, have one constructive suggestion for marketing this song: create your own genre of “Special English Tweeny Bop.” Oh, not familiar with Special English? Well, my friend, you don’t listen to enough VOA. And really, how can you hear enough VOA? I just can’t get enough. I think Rebecca Black has a future there, until those killjoy Republicans step in, at least.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    March 25, 2011 11:02 am

    So after watching/listening to this song my computer pulled up a clip that asked, “Rebecca Black: the next Justin Beiber or just a joke?” I’m thinking it’s possible to be both.

  2. Deborah permalink
    March 29, 2011 11:12 am

    I just read about her in people magazine. Her feelings are hurt by all the negative comments. Maybe she should step back and look at the video.

  3. March 31, 2011 1:08 am

    It’s better this way:

  4. Kate permalink
    April 11, 2011 6:16 pm

    watched the video for the first time based on your humorous blog post. thought i’d appreciate it even more having watched the actual thing. yeah, it’s terrible, terrible. adults mainly at fault. also left wondering, is it any more terrible than some of katy perry’s stuff? this is where popular music seems to be heading. bummer. that said, new b boys may 3rd!!

Leave a Reply

