Skip to content

Out with the Old

March 18, 2011

The good thing about being single is that I buy myself the best presents. Sans spouse, and with unemployed children, the gift-giving is pretty much all one-way, so once and a while I pony up for a present for myself. And I always know just what I want.

So my dining room came equipped with one of these:

Meh.

I needed this:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Do you love it? That’s OK–I do.

Just wait and see what I’ve got in store for myself for Mother’s Day! And my birthday. Maybe Easter. I’m the luckiest girl alive!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. deborah permalink
    March 18, 2011 9:12 am

    I do love it and I agree that I buy myself the best presents. Who else knows you better!

    • March 18, 2011 3:46 pm

      Only everyone who has looked at my Amazon wishlist, but that light was on it for 2 years before I gave up and bought it myself!

  2. amy permalink
    March 18, 2011 9:17 am

    Looks perfect in your dining room.

  3. amy parnell permalink
    March 18, 2011 11:23 am

    I really do like that. I have very little decorating skill and would never even think of something that exotic. Very nice, and of course we give ourselves the best gifts, we know what a woman wants. 🙂

    • March 18, 2011 3:48 pm

      Oh, I have no skills, really–I just do what I like and then listen to my mom telling me how I did it all wrong.

  4. joanna permalink
    March 18, 2011 11:47 am

    another thing about buying yourself presents is that you don’t have to pretend you love it!

    • March 18, 2011 3:49 pm

      Well, when I realized my kids had absconded with the box and packing material so that I couldn’t return it, I decided I would have to pretend I did, even if I didn’t. But lucky I really do like it.

  5. Ganie permalink
    March 18, 2011 1:47 pm

    It’s very *you*. What I really want to know is, did you install it yourself and, if so, will you come over and help me put up a chandelier in my dining room, whenever I finally get around to buying one?

    • March 18, 2011 3:53 pm

      You can have my old one, and no, I hired someone to put it up. I asked my visiting teachers to do it (they asked!) and they turned me down. So, it did cost me $100 to install, but I figure that at least I know it was done right. This year, I am keeping tabs on all my spousal expenditures–the things I have to pay people to do because it is something a spouse would do. So far, husbands are relatively cheap. If I were paying someone to do a wife’s work, well, I couldn’t afford it.

      • March 28, 2011 6:02 pm

        hahahaha! Wives aren’t cheap – true.

  6. March 25, 2011 12:14 am

    Uh, sometimes you can have a spouse, and still have to hire someone to do things for you. This is why my grandmother’s admonition to “marry money or marry a handyman” makes so much sense to me all these years later. My electrician would have charged you $30 for that install. See, it’s good when lacking in the handy spouse category to find competent and affordable spousal subsitutes.

    By the way, I love the lamp.

Leave a Reply

